Recent Opportunities

Here you'll find the latest opportunities posted to the SAH website. Click the title for more information on an opportunity. You can submit your own opportunity or search opportunities.

Carter Manny Award Application Deadline March 15, 2013

Since the Carter Manny Award’s establishment in 1996, over $600,000 has been awarded in recognition of outstanding doctoral students whose work represents some of the most innovative and advanced scholarship on architecture and its role in the arts, culture, and society. The Carter Manny Award supports dissertation research and writing by promising scholars whose projects have architecture as their primary concern and focus and have the potential to shape contemporary discourse about architecture and impact the field. Projects may be drawn from the various fields of inquiry supported by the Graham Foundation: architectural history, theory, and criticism; design; engineering; landscape architecture; urban planning; urban studies; the visual arts; and other related fields. (See the Overview of our grant programs). The award assists students enrolled in graduate programs in architecture, art history, the fine arts, humanities, and the social sciences working on architecture topics.

The Graham Foundation offers two Carter Manny Awards: a research award for a student at the research stage of the doctoral dissertation and a writing award for a student at the writing stage of the doctoral dissertation. The research award is acknowledged with up to $15,000 and the writing award is acknowledged with up to $20,000.

The Carter Manny Award applications are reviewed by a diverse panel of recognized scholars in the fields of inquiry represented by the award. Past panelists have included Christy Anderson, Phil Ashton, Susan Bielstein, Dana Cuff, Jesús Escobar, Chandra Goldsmith Gray, John Harwood, Hannah Higgins, Pamela Karimi, Sean Keller, Nana Last, Christopher Long, Paula Lupkin, Harry Mallgrave, Jonathan Massey, Joanna Merwood-Salisbury, Patricia Morton, Jorge Otero-Pailos, Annie Pedret, Felicity Scott, Dana Simmons, and Elizabeth Smith.