Recent Opportunities


Call for Nominations: SACRPH Awards Competition 2017

The Society for American City & Regional Planning History (SACRPH), an interdisciplinary society of scholars and planning practitioners, announces its biennial awards competition. The awards will be presented at SACRPH’s 17th National Conference on Planning History, to be held in Cleveland, Ohio, October 26-29, 2017. For more information, see

Deadline to apply for Publication Prizes and Teaching Award: August 1, 2017

Deadline to apply for Conference Paper Prize and Student Travel Awards: August 15, 2017

(For work published between August 2015 and July 2017)

Lewis Mumford Prize ($250)
Best book on American city and regional planning history. Please send or direct your publisher to send three copies to the following addresses:

Robert Fishman (Chair)
Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning
2000 Bonisteel Blvd.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2069

Brent D. Ryan
Department of Urban Studies and Planning, MIT
Room 10-485, 77 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge MA 02139.

Lily Geismer
5180 High Crest Avenue
Los Angeles, CA. 90041

Catherine Bauer Wurster Prize ($250)
Best scholarly article on American city and regional planning history in any journal. Please send a PDF of your published article to Matthew Lasner:

• Matthew Lasner, Hunter College, CUNY (Chair)
• Anthony Raynsford, San Jose State University
• Aaron Shkuda, Princeton University

John Reps Prize ($250)
Best master’s thesis and best doctoral dissertation in American city and regional planning history. Please submit one copy of your manuscript to each of the addresses below:

Greg Hise (Chair)
972 S. Orange Grove Blvd., Unit D 
Pasadena, CA 91105

David Sloane
Ralph and Goldy Lewis Hall 313
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0626

June Williamson
39 Claremont Ave #103
New York, NY 10027

Journal of Planning History Prize ($100)
Best article published in the Journal of Planning History. Authors do not need to submit copies. All articles published between August 2015 and May 2017 (inclusive) will be considered.

• Eric Sandweiss, Indiana University (Chair)
• Elizabeth Macdonald, University of California Berkeley
• Renia Ehrenfreucht, University of New Mexico

(for papers accepted for presentation at the 17th National Conference on Planning History, Cleveland, Ohio, October 26-29, 2017) 

Student Paper Prize ($100)
Best conference paper submitted by a full-time student. For consideration, students should send their paper as a PDF to Kristin Larsen:

• Kristin Larsen, University of Florida (Chair)
• Mariana Mogilevich, Urban Omnibus, The Architectural League of New York
• Brian Goldstein, Swarthmore College


Lawrence Gerckens Prize ($250)
Awarded to a scholar-teacher who has demonstrated sustained teaching excellence and educational leadership in the field of planning history. Teaching excellence refers to the nominees influence in the classroom. Educational leadership involves, among other things, curriculum development, colleague and student mentoring, and pedagogical publishing. 
Letters of nomination should be sent electronically to Domenic Vitiello:
• Domenic Vitiello, University of Pennsylvania (Chair)
• Mary Ryan, Emeritus, Johns Hopkins University
• Lawrence Vale, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
• Richard Longstreth, George Washington University

4. Student Travel Awards (up to $250 each)

The Robert S. Birch Endowment supports the activities of students within SACRPH and helps fund travel to the conference for students whose proposals have been accepted by the program committee. Individual grants will not exceed $250. Students presenting papers should send an electronic copy to Sara Stevens:

• Sara Stevens, University of British Columbia (Chair)
• David Smiley, Columbia University
• Jennifer Hock, Maryland Institute College of Art


SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Fund at The Chicago Community Foundation for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2012