SAH News

Society of Architectural Historians Names the 2014 SAH Fellows

by User Not Found | Apr 11, 2014

The Society of Architectural Historians inducted four Fellows of the Society at the 67th Annual Conference in Austin, Texas.  

The Society of Architectural Historians (SAH) has named the following individuals as the 2014 SAH Fellows. These individuals have distinguished themselves by a lifetime of significant contributions to the field that may include scholarship, service to the Society or stewardship of the built environment. SAH honored the Fellows at an awards ceremony that took place during the Society’s 67th Annual Conference in Austin, Texas. For more information, visit

Naomi Miller
Naomi Miller is Professor Emerita of the History of Art & Architecture at Boston University, where she was the first woman to receive tenure in the department. She has published widely and served as one of the lead authors for Buildings of Massachusetts: Metropolitan Boston, a volume in the Society’s Buildings of the United States series. Miller’s scholarship on the history of architecture and landscape architecture has been recognized with awards from Dumbarton Oaks, I Tatti, and the Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts.  

Robert B. Rettig
In addition to a long and distinguished career as a scholar and historic preservationist, Robert B. Rettig has been a valuable member of the architectural history community through is dedicated service to nonprofit cultural organizations like the Society of Architectural Historians. He served as a director and a treasurer of SAH and was the founding president of the New England Chapter of SAH in 1972. Rettig has held elected positions at eight other nonprofits throughout his career, including the Cambridge Historical Society and the Victorian Society in America.

Dell Upton
Professor Dell Upton teaches at UCLA and is known as a pioneer in the field of vernacular architecture and an early advocate for global histories of architecture. His publications have garnered many notable awards, including SAH’s Alice Davis Hitchcock and Spiro Kostof Book Awards, the American Studies Association’s John Hope Franklin Award, the Vernacular Architecture Forum’s  Abbott Lowell Cummings Award and the Louisiana Literary Award.

Patricia Waddy
Patricia Waddy is Distinguished Professor of Architecture Emerita at Syracuse University and the author of Seventeenth-Century Roman Palaces: Use and the Art of the Plan. Her study elevated the art of space planning to a new level of appreciation, emphasizing the role of the designer’s artistry in the creation of a plan. As a past president of SAH, Waddy was instrumental in moving the organization’s headquarters from Philadelphia to Chicago, where it now occupies the historic Charnley-Persky House.

About SAH
Founded in 1940, the Society of Architectural Historians is a nonprofit membership organization that promotes the study, interpretation and conservation of architecture, design, landscapes and urbanism worldwide. SAH serves a network of local, national and international institutions and individuals who, by vocation or avocation, focus on the built environment and its role in shaping contemporary life.  SAH promotes meaningful public engagement with the history of the built environment through advocacy efforts, print and online publications, and local, national and international programs. Learn more at

Download release (print-friendly version): Society of Architectural Historians Names the 2014 SAH Fellows


SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2012