SAH News

Applications Open for the 2015 SAH Publication Awards

by User Not Found | Jun 01, 2014

The Society of Architectural Historians is accepting submissions for the 2015 SAH Publication Awards. Each year, the Society presents five awards honoring the most distinguished publications in architectural history,exhibition catalogues, preservation, landscape history and urban history  that have been published in the previous two years.

To learn more about the awards and to download a nomination form, visit The deadline to apply for the 2015 Publication Awards is August 1, 2014.

Descriptions of the SAH Publication Awards follow:

Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award
Established in 1949 to recognize annually the most distinguished work of scholarship in the history of architecture published by a North American scholar

Philip Johnson Exhibition Catalogue Award
Presented for excellence in published exhibition catalogs

Antoinette Forrester Downing Book Award
Presented for the outstanding publication devoted to historical issues in the preservation field

Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award
Presented for distinguished scholarship in the history of landscape architecture or garden design

Spiro Kostof Book Award
Presented for the work that, focusing on urbanism and architecture, provides the greatest contribution to our understanding of historical development and change

About SAH
Founded in 1940, the Society of Architectural Historians is a nonprofit membership organization that promotes the study, interpretation and conservation of architecture, design, landscapes and urbanism worldwide. SAH serves a network of local, national and international institutions and individuals who, by vocation or avocation, focus on the built environment and its role in shaping contemporary life. SAH promotes meaningful public engagement with the history of the built environment through advocacy efforts, print and online publications, and local, national and international programs. Learn more at

Download a print-friendly version: Applications Open for the 2015 SAH Publication Awards


SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2012