SAH News

SAH Announces Winners of 2016 Publication Awards, Film and Video Award

by SAH News | Apr 08, 2016
Download the Press Release

The Society of Architectural Historians has announced the 2016 recipients of the SAH Publication Awards and SAH Award for Film and Video. SAH presented the awards at its 2016 Annual International Conference Awards Ceremony on April 7 in Pasadena, Calif.


Each year, SAH presents publication awards honoring excellence in architectural history, urban history, landscape history and historic preservation scholarship as well as architectural exhibition catalogues. The 2016 award recipients are listed below. SAH will begin accepting nominations for the 2017 award cycle on June 1, 2016. For more information, visit

Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award
Honoring the most distinguished work of scholarship in the history of architecture published by a North American scholar

Winner: Amy F. Ogata, Designing the Creative Child: Playthings and Places in Midcentury America (University of Minnesota Press, 2013)

Amy F. Ogata is professor and chair of art history at the University of Southern California.
Downing_The-Conservation-Movement Antoinette Forrester Downing Book Award 
Honoring excellence in a published work devoted to historical topics in preservation

Winner: Miles Glendinning, The Conservation Movement: A History of Architectural Preservation (Routledge, 2013)

Miles Glendinning is professor of architectural conservation at the University of Edinburgh and director of the Scottish Centre for Conservation Studies. 
Johnson_The-City-Lost-&-Found Philip Johnson Exhibition Catalogue Award
Recognizing excellence of architectural history scholarship in exhibition catalogues

Winner: Katherine A. Bussard, Alison Fisher, and Greg Foster-Rice, The City Lost & Found: Capturing New York, Chicago, and Los Angeles, 1960–1980 (Princeton University Art Museum, 2014)

Katherine A. Bussard is the Peter C. Bunnell Curator of Photography at the Princeton University Art Museum. Alison Fisher is Harold and Margot Schiff Associate Curator of Architecture and Design at the Art Institute of Chicago. Greg Foster-Rice is an associate professor at Columbia College, Chicago, where he teaches the history, theory, and criticism of photography.
Kostof_The-Social-Project Spiro Kostof Book Award
Recognizing a work in a discipline related to urban history that has made the greatest contribution to our understanding of historical development and change

Winner: Kenny Cupers, The Social Project: Housing Postwar France (University of Minnesota Press, 2014)

Kenny Cupers is associate professor in the History and Theory of Architecture and Urbanism at the University of Basel, Switzerland. 
Kostof_HonMention_The-City-and-the-King Honorable Mention: Christine Stevenson, The City and the King: Architecture and Politics in Restoration London (Yale University Press, 2013)

Christine Stevenson is senior lecturer at the Courtauld Institute of Art, University of London. 
MacDougall_Wasteland Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award
Recognizing the most distinguished work of scholarship in the history of landscape architecture or garden design

Winner: Vittoria Di Palma, Wasteland: A History (Yale University Press, 2014)

Vittoria Di Palma is an assistant professor in the School of Architecture of the University of Southern California.
MacDougall_HonMention_Ireland-and-the-Picturesque Honorable Mention: Finola O’Kane, Ireland and the Picturesque: Design, Landscape Painting and Tourism 1700–1840 (Yale University Press, 2013)

Finola O’Kane is lecturer in the School of Architecture, College of Engineering and Architecture, University College Dublin. 
JSAHDec2015_0001  Founders’ JSAH Article Award
Recognizing an article published by an emerging scholar in the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians that exhibits excellence of scholarship and presentation

Winner: Lukasz Stanek, “Architects from Socialist Countries in Ghana (1957–67): Modern Architecture and Mondialisation,” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians 74, no. 4 (December 2015): 416–442.
Lukasz Stanek is a lecturer at the University of Manchester.


The SAH Award for Film and Video was established in 2013 to recognize annually the most distinguished work of film or video on the history of the built environment. The 2016 recipients are listed below. SAH will begin accepting nominations for the 2017 award cycle on June 1, 2016. Visit for more information. 

The New Rijksmuseum 
First Run Features, 2014
Filmmaker: Oeke Hoogendijk 
Run time: 131 minutes

From the Award Committee:
“Rare is the documentary film about a single building that can sustain the interest of viewers for over two hours. Brilliantly filmed and edited, The New Rijksmuseum by Oeke Hoogendijk explores the complicated renovation of Pierre Cuypers’ 1885 museum in Amsterdam. It surveys aesthetic deliberations that the Spanish architects in charge of the project, Antonio Cruz and Antonio Ortiz, had with curators and administrators that led to the triumphant reopening of the museum in 2013, ten years after construction began. As an investigation of the social life of architecture, the film casts a revealing light on Dutch social democracy as it shows the power of the cyclists union to prevent planners from destroying a much-loved bike path that ran through the building. The filmmaker also underscores the difficulties of running a large public institution that is undergoing a major transformation. Along the way, Hoogendijk highlights the challenge of creating memorable architectural spaces for the display of some of the world’s most celebrated art and of providing state-of-the-art facilities for the preservation and conservation of artworks. The members of the jury found The New Rijksmuseum an illuminating and entertaining study of the adaptation of one of the world’s great museums to the needs of the present. It will enlighten architectural historians, preservationists, architects, designers, art historians, and members of the museum going public.”

haus-tugendhatHonorable Mention: Haus Tugendhat
Pandora Film, 2013
Filmmakers: Dieter Reifarth (director) and Filipp Goldscheider (producer)
Run time: 117 min

About SAH

Founded in 1940, the Society of Architectural Historians is a nonprofit membership organization that promotes the study, interpretation and conservation of architecture, design, landscapes and urbanism worldwide. SAH serves a network of local, national and international institutions and individuals who, by vocation or avocation, focus on the built environment and its role in shaping contemporary life. SAH promotes meaningful public engagement with the history of the built environment through advocacy efforts, print and online publications, and local, national and international programs. Learn more at

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2012