Emerging Architectural Historians Win Awards from the Mellon Foundation and SAH

by Architect, Journal of the AIA | Aug 30, 2016
Three scholars have been named as recipients of the 2016 SAH/Mellon Author Award, which supports scholars working on their first book. The award is an initiative of the Society of Architectural Historians (SAH), funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. None of the three books has been published yet. This year's recipients all focus on Germany before the Second World War:

Peter Christensen

Germany and the Ottoman Railways: Art, Empire, and Infrastructure (Yale University Press)

Itohan I. Osayimwese
Colonialism and the Archive of Modern Architecture in Germany (University of Pittsburgh Press)

Robin Schuldenfrei
Luxury and Modernism:  Architecture and the Object in Germany 1900-1933 (Princeton University Press)

SAH congratulates these members and authors on receiving this award. 

To read  the full article and brief biographies of each awardee, click here.
More coverage from the Architects Newspaper here.

Founded in 1940, the Society of Architectural Historians is an international nonprofit membership organization that promotes the study, interpretation and conservation of architecture, design, landscapes and urbanism worldwide. SAH serves a network of local, national and international institutions and individuals who, by profession or interest, focus on the built environment and its role in shaping contemporary life. SAH promotes meaningful public engagement with the history of the built environment through advocacy efforts, print and online publications, and local, national and international programs.

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2012