Board of Directors

OFFICERS

President Dr. Abigail Van Slyck Connecticut College

1st Vice President Prof. Ken Breisch University of Southern California

2nd Vice President Dr. Ken Tadashi Oshima University of Washington

Secretary Prof. Gail Fenske Roger Williams University

Treasurer Jan M. Grayson Chicago, IL

Executive Director Pauline Saliga

DIRECTORS

Michael J. Gibson Greenberg, Whitcombe, Takeuchi, LLP

Dale A. Gyure Lawrence Technological University

Richard L. Hayes American Insititute of Architects

Duanfang Lu University of Sydney

Michael P. McCulloch University of Michigan

Martha J. McNamara Wellesley College

Robert Nauman University of Colorado Boulder

Donna Robertson Illinois Institute of Technology

Call for Session Proposals

Society of Architectural Historians 68th Annual Conference Chicago, Illinois | April 15-19, 2015

At its 2015 Annual Conference in Chicago, Illinois, the Society of Architectural Historians (SAH) will celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Society's founding. SAH will offer six concurrent paper sessions, in six modules over two days, for a total of 36 paper sessions. The Society invites its members, including graduate students and independent scholars, representatives of SAH chapters and partner organizations, as well as future members to chair a session at the conference.

Since the principal purpose of the Annual Conference is to inform the conference attendees of the general state of research in architectural history and related disciplines, session proposals covering every period in the history of architecture and all aspects of the built environment, including landscape and urban history, are encouraged.

Sessions may be theoretical, methodological, thematic, interdisciplinary, pedagogical, revisionist or documentary in premise and have broadly conceived or more narrowly focused subjects. Sessions that embrace cross-cultural, trans-national and/or nonwestern topics are particularly welcome. In every case, the subject should be clearly defined in critical and historiographic terms, and should be substantiated by a distinct body of either established or emerging scholarship.

Proposals will be selected on the basis of merit and the need to organize a well-balanced program. Topics exploring the architecture of the Chicago area and the Great Lakes Basin are encouraged. As Chicago serves as a global/local transportation hub, SAH also encourages international scholars to submit session proposals.

Since late submissions cannot be considered, it is recommended that proposals be submitted and their receipt confirmed well before the deadline. The General Chair cannot be responsible for last-minute submissions, electronic or otherwise, that fail to reach their destination. Abby Rumsey Scholarly Communication Institute

Michelangelo Sabatino University of Houston College of Architecture

Dr. Sandra Tatman Athenaeum of Philadelphia

Bartholomew Voorsanger Voorsanger Architects PC

Ms. Cynthia Weese Weese, Langley, Weese Architects Ltd.

Prof. Victoria M. Young University of St. Thomas

Gary Van Zante MIT Museum

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS

Prof. Swati Chattopadhyay UC Santa Barbara

David Fixler Einhorn Yaffee Prescott Architecture & Engineering

Dr. Karen Kingsley Tulane University School of Architecture

Jeffrey Klee Colonial Williamsburg

Jacqueline Spafford UC Santa Barbara

Submission Guidelines

Session proposals are to be submitted via email by **January 15**, **2014**, to Prof. Ken Tadashi Oshima, general chair of the SAH 68th Annual Conference, at <u>koshima@uw.edu</u>. Please cc to Kathy Sturm, SAH director of programs, at <u>ksturm@sah.org</u>.

Prospective chairs must include the following in their proposal:

- 1. A session title not longer than 65 characters, including spaces and punctuation
- 2. Summary of the subject and the premise in no more than 500 words
- 3. Your name, professional affiliation (if applicable), address, telephone and fax numbers, email addresses
- 4. A current CV

Please include the text of the proposal (items 1-3, above) both in the body of the email and in an attached document.

Authors of accepted proposals will be asked to draft a more concise Call for Papers for their sessions of not more than 300 words. This will be published in the April 2014 SAH Newsletter. For examples, see the 2014 Conference Program & Paper Sessions at www.sah.org/2014-paper-sessions.

As SAH membership is required to chair or present research at the Annual Conference, non-members who wish to chair a session or deliver a paper will be required to join SAH and to pre-register for the conference in August 2014.

Annual Conference Fellowships

SAH will offer a limited number of travel fellowships (with a value of up to \$1000) for speakers participating in the Annual Conference; session chairs are not eligible for these awards. **The deadline for applying will be in September 2014.** Each session chair is expected to fund his/her own travel and related expenses to participate in the conference. A copy of the Session Chair Guidelines that includes deadlines and step-by-step processes will be distributed to the selected Session Chairs.

Contact

For more information, please contact Kathy Sturm, SAH director of programs, at 312.543.7243 or <u>ksturm@sah.org</u>.