Society of Architectural Historians Invitation for Nominations 2023 Antoinette Forrester Downing Book Award

Presented by the Society of Architectural Historians for the outstanding publication devoted to historical issues in the preservation field

Purpose

For some time, preservationists have been involved in investigating and evaluating the physical fabric of this country and other nations. To encourage further research and publication of research in this field, the Society of Architectural Historians has established an annual award for excellence in a published work devoted to historical topics in preservation. Named for Antoinette Forrester Downing, the award honors her scholarship and recognition of the value of local inventories and surveys.

Criteria for Submission

Publications in English submitted for consideration may include historic resource surveys, historical studies of the preservation movement, philosophical approaches to preservation, or historiographical methods. In each case, the publication should substantially, if not wholly, focus on these subjects in the United States. **Books with a printed 2020 or 2021 copyright date are eligible.** Entries for consideration may be submitted only by the publisher or publisher's distributor. Self-published books are not eligible. Journals are not eligible.

Subsequent editions of a book are eligible only if the original core material has been edited or revised. A new preface or introduction with no changes to the original text is not eligible.

Books submitted for this award may not be submitted in the same year for the Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Award, the Alice Davis Hitchcock Award, the SAH Exhibition Catalogue Award or the Spiro Kostof Award; books that have received one of those awards in a previous year may not be submitted for the Antoinette Forrester Downing Award.

Criteria for Award

The most important criterion is the publication's contribution to the understanding of the built environment. A second criterion is a high standard of research and analysis, whether the publication was written for a scholarly audience, a general audience, or both. A third criterion is excellence in layout, design, and quality of reproduction.

The Award

The award consists of a certificate and citation that will be presented at the Society's 76th Annual International Conference in Montreal, Canada, April 12-16, 2023. The award will also be announced in the *Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians* and the SAH Newsletter. The winning publication will become part of the Society's permanent collection, displayed in the library of the Charnley-Persky House in Chicago, Illinois.

The Committee

The Committee is appointed by the president of the Society of Architectural Historians. One copy of the nominated publication, along with the completed nomination form below, should be sent to each committee member postmarked by **July 31, 2022**.

Sally McMurry, Chair c/o Essex National Heritage Area 10 Federal Street, Suite 12 Salem, MA 01970

Benjamin Haley 133 Cold Hill Granby, MA 01033

Conrad G. Thake no. 46, Triq il-Grazzja Zebbug ZBG 1058 Malta, Europe

Also send one copy of the book and nomination form to the Society's headquarters:

2023 Antoinette Forrester Downing Book Award Society of Architectural Historians 1365 N. Astor Street Chicago, IL 60610-2144 312.573.1365 Attn: Christopher Kirbabas <u>ckirbabas@sah.org</u>

Society of Architectural Historians Notice of Book Submission 2023 Antoinette Forrester Downing Award

Presented by the Society of Architectural Historians for the outstanding publication devoted to historical issues in the preservation field

The following book is submitted for consideration for the 2023 Downing Award:

Title	
Author(s)	
Publisher	
Copyright date	20202021 (copyright date printed in book)
Publisher's Representative	
Publisher's Address	
City	State
Postal Code	
Publisher's Telephone	
Publisher's Email	

Please include this form with each book submitted to the SAH HQ office and to each review committee member. Mail books directly to the review committee members at their addresses above.