

Society of Architectural Historians Invitation for Nominations 2023 Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award

Presented by the Society of Architectural Historians for distinguished scholarship by a North American author in the history of architecture.

Purpose

The Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award was established in 1949 to recognize annually the most distinguished work of scholarship in the history of architecture published by a North American scholar.

Criteria for Submission

A "North American scholar" is defined as someone born in Canada, the United States, or Mexico, or someone who published the book while living or holding a position in one of these countries. For the purposes of this award, "architectural history" is interpreted broadly.

Books in English with a printed copyright date of **2020 or 2021** are eligible. Entries for consideration must be scholarly volumes that (1) have been peer reviewed; (2) have rigorously documented sources; and (3) include scholarly apparatus such as notes and bibliography. Entries may be submitted only by the publisher or publisher's distributor. Self-published books are not eligible. Journals are not eligible.

Subsequent editions of a book are eligible only if the original core material has been substantially edited or revised. A new preface or introduction with no changes to the original text is not eligible.

Books submitted for this award may not be submitted in the same year for the Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Award, the Antoinette Forrester Downing Award, the SAH Exhibition Catalogue Award or the Spiro Kostof Award. Books that have received one of those awards in a previous year may not be submitted for the Alice Davis Hitchcock Award.

The Award

The award consists of a certificate and citation that will be presented at the Society's 76th Annual International Conference in Montreal, Canada, April 12-16, 2023. The award will also be announced in the *Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians* and the SAH Newsletter. The winning publication will become part of the Society's permanent collection, displayed in the library of the Charnley-Persky House in Chicago, Illinois.

The Committee

The Committee is appointed by the president of the Society of Architectural Historians. One copy of the nominated publication, along with the completed nomination form below, should be sent to each committee member postmarked by July 31, 2022.

Nancy Steinhardt, Chair 1014 Centennial Road Penn Valley, PA 19072-1410

Can Bilsel c/o Juliana Maxim 254 Rancho Santa Fe Road Encinitas CA 92024

Madhuri Desai Associate Professor of Art History and Asian Studies Department of Art History 237 Borland Building The Pennsylvania State University University Park, PA 16802

Also send one copy of the book and nomination form to the Society's headquarters:

2023 Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award Nomination Society of Architectural Historians 1365 N. Astor Street Chicago, IL 60610-2144 Attn: Christopher Kirbabas ckirbabas@sah.org

1365 North Astor Street Chicago, Illinois 60610

phone 312.573.1365 fax 312.573.1141



Society of Architectural Historians **Notice of Book Submission** 2023 Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award

Presented by the Society of Architectural Historians for distinguished scholarship by a North American author in the history of architecture.

The following book is submitted for consideration for the 2023 Alice Davis Hitchcock Award. Title Author(s) Copyright date 2020 2021 (copyright date printed in book) Has the book been peer reviewed? Yes No Does it have rigorous documentary resources? Yes No Does it have notes and a bibliography? ____ Yes ____ No **Publisher** State Postal Code City **Publisher Representative** Publisher's Email

Please include this form with each book submitted to SAH HQ and to each review committee member. Please mail books directly to the review committee members and SAH at the addresses above.