

# Society of Architectural Historians Invitation for Nominations 2023 Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award

Presented by the Society of Architectural Historians for distinguished scholarship in the history of landscape architecture or garden design

### Purpose

The Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award was established by the SAH Board in 2005 to recognize annually the most distinguished work of scholarship in the history of landscape architecture or garden design. Named for SAH Past President and landscape historian Elisabeth MacDougall, the award honors the late historian's role in developing this field of study.

#### Criteria for Submission

Books in English with a **2019, 2020, or 2021** printed copyright date are eligible. Entries for consideration may be submitted only by the publisher or publisher's distributor. Self-published books are not eligible. Journals are not eligible.

Subsequent editions of a book are eligible only if the original core material has been edited or revised. A new preface or introduction with no changes to the original text is not eligible.

Books submitted for this award may not be submitted in the same year for the Alice Davis Hitchcock Award, the Antoinette Forrester Downing Award, the SAH Exhibition Catalogue Award, or the Spiro Kostof Award; books that have received one of those awards in a previous year may not be submitted for the Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award.

#### The Award

The award consists of a certificate and citation that will be presented at the Society's 76<sup>th</sup> Annual International Conference in Montreal, Canada, April 12-16, 2023. The award will also be announced in the *Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians* and the SAH Newsletter. The winning publication will become part of the Society's permanent collection, displayed in the library of the Charnley-Persky House in Chicago, Illinois.

#### The Committee

The Committee is appointed by the President of the Society of Architectural Historians. One copy of the nominated publication, along with the completed nomination form below, should be sent to SAH HQ and to

each committee member postmarked by July 31, 2022.

Kathleen John-Alder, Chair P.O. Box 634 Roosevelt, NJ 08555

Sonja Dümpelmann
Department of Landscape Architecture
University of Pennsylvania
Stuart Weitzman School of Design
Meyerson Hall
210 South 34th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Tracy L. Ehrlich 1215 5<sup>th</sup> Avenue #7C New York, NY 10029

Also send one copy of the book and nomination form to the Society's headquarters:

2023 Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award Society of Architectural Historians 1365 N. Astor Street Chicago, IL 60610-2144 312.573.1365

Attn: Christopher Kirbabas

ckirbabas@sah.org



## **Society of Architectural Historians** 2023 Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Award

Presented by the Society of Architectural Historians for distinguished scholarship in the history of landscape architecture or garden design

The following book is submitted for consideration for the 2023 Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Award.

Title _				
- Author(s)				
Copyright date			2021 (copyright date printed in bo	ok)
Publisher <sub>-</sub>				
Publisher Representative				
Publisher's Address				
City _			State	
Postal Code				
Publisher's Email				
Please include this	form with each l	oook submitt	ed to SAH HQ and to each review com	mittee member.
Mail books directly	to the review co	ommittee me	embers at their addresses above.	