

Society of Architectural Historians Invitation for Nominations 2026 Spiro Kostof Book Award

Presented by the Society of Architectural Historians for the work that contributes most significantly to our understanding of urban history.

Purpose

This award was established in 1993, at the Society's Annual Meeting in Albuquerque, in recognition of Spiro Kostof's extraordinarily productive and inspiring career that was ended by his premature death in December 1991. In the spirit of Kostof's writings, the award will be given to interdisciplinary studies of urban history that make the greatest contribution to our understanding of the growth and development of cities.

Criteria for Submission

The award is open to authors worldwide for books in English with a 2023 or 2024 printed copyright date. For the purposes of this award, "urban history" is interpreted broadly and recognition of books "in the spirit of Kostof's writings" is interpreted to favor those studies which are interdisciplinary and whose content focuses on urban development and the history of urban form.

Entries for consideration must be scholarly volumes that (1) have been peer reviewed; (2) have rigorously documented sources; (3) include scholarly apparatus such as notes and bibliography. Entries may be submitted *only* by the publisher or publisher's distributor. Self-published books are not eligible. Journals are not eligible. Subsequent editions of a book are eligible only if the original core material has been substantially edited or revised. A new preface or introduction with no changes to the original text is not eligible.

Books submitted for this award may not be submitted in the same year for the Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Award, the Alice Davis Hitchcock Award, the Antoinette Forrester Downing Award or the SAH Exhibition Catalogue Award. Books that have received one of those awards in a previous year may not be submitted for the Spiro Kostof Book Award.

The Award

The award consists of a certificate and citation that will be presented at the Society's 79th Annual International Conference in Mexico City, Mexico, April 15-19, 2026. The award will also be announced in the *Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians* and the SAH Newsletter. The winning publication will become part of the Society's permanent collection, displayed in the library of the Charnley-Persky House in Chicago, Illinois.

The Committee

The Committee is appointed by the President of the Society of Architectural Historians. One copy of the nominated publication should be sent to SAH HQ and to each committee member postmarked by **September 3, 2025**.

Ken Oshima, Chair 3010 NE 103rd St Seattle, WA

Margaret Crawford 190 Tamalpais Road Berkeley, CA 94708-1947

Zeynep Kezer
30 Harley Terrace
Newcastle upon Tyne
NE3 1UL
United Kingdom
zeynep.kezer@newcastle.ac.uk

**E-books can be sent to the above email address.

Please send one copy of the book along with the nomination form to the Society's headquarters. The nomination form can be submitted via email.

2026 Spiro Kostof Book Award Nomination Society of Architectural Historians 1365 N. Astor Street Chicago, IL 60610-2144 312.573.1365

Attn: Christopher Kirbabas

ckirbabas@sah.org



Society of Architectural Historians 2026 Spiro Kostof Book Award Submission

Presented by the Society of Architectural Historians for work that contributes most significantly to our understanding of urban history.

Title		
Author(s)		
Publisher		
Copyright date	20232024 (copyri	ght date printed in book)
Has the book been բ	peer reviewed?	YesNo
Does it have rigoroι	us documentary resources?	YesNo
Does it have notes and a bibliography?		YesNo
Publisher's Address		
City	State	Postal Code
Publisher Representative		
Publisher's		