Society of Architectural Historians Invitation for Nominations 2026 Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award

Presented by the Society of Architectural Historians for distinguished scholarship in the history of landscape architecture or garden design

Purpose

The Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award was established by the SAH Board in 2005 to recognize annually the most distinguished work of scholarship in the history of landscape architecture or garden design. Named for SAH Past President and landscape historian Elisabeth MacDougall, the award honors the late historian's role in developing this field of study.

Criteria for Submission

Books in English with a **2022**, **2023**, **or 2024** printed copyright date are eligible. Entries for consideration may be submitted only by the publisher or publisher's distributor. Self-published books are not eligible. Journals are not eligible.

Subsequent editions of a book are eligible only if the original core material has been edited or revised. A new preface or introduction with no changes to the original text is not eligible.

Books submitted for this award may not be submitted in the same year for the Alice Davis Hitchcock Award, the Antoinette Forrester Downing Award, the SAH Exhibition Catalogue Award, or the Spiro Kostof Award; books that have received one of those awards in a previous year may not be submitted for the Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award.

The Award

The award consists of a certificate and citation that will be presented at the Society's 79th Annual International Conference in Mexico City, Mexico, April 15-19, 2026. The award will also be announced in the *Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians* and the SAH Newsletter. The winning publication will become part of the Society's permanent collection, displayed in the library of the Charnley-Persky House in Chicago, Illinois.

The Committee

The Committee is appointed by the President of the Society of Architectural Historians. One copy of the nominated publication should be sent to SAH HQ and to each committee member postmarked by **September 3**, 2025.

D.F. Ruggles, Chair 108 W. Jay Street Ithaca, NY 14850

For books received after August 12 please send to: D.F. Ruggles Dept of Landscape Architecture 101 Temple Buell 611 E. Lorado Taft Drive Champaign, IL 61820

Lake Douglas 925 Moss Street New Orleans, LA 70119

Pania Yanjie Mu 14979 Großbeeren OT Kleinbeeren, Zum Hundepfuhl 22 Germany

Please send one copy of the book along with the nomination form to the Society's headquarters. The nomination form can be submitted via email.

2026 Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award Society of Architectural Historians 1365 N. Astor Street Chicago, IL 60610-2144 312.573.1365 Attn: Christopher Kirbabas <u>ckirbabas@sah.org</u>

Society of Architectural Historians 2026 Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Award

Presented by the Society of Architectural Historians for distinguished scholarship in the history of landscape architecture or garden design

Title				
Author(s)				
Copyright date	2022	2023	2024 (copyright date printed in	book)
Publisher				
Publisher Representative				
Publisher's Address				
City			State	
Postal Code				
Publisher's Email				