SOCIETY OF ARCHITECTURAL HISTORIANS

11 December 2019

The Honorable Lisa Murkowski Chairman Committee on Energy and Natural Resources 304 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Joe Manchin Ranking Member Committee on Energy and Natural Resources 304 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Re: S Res 315, the resolution memorializing the discovery of the *Clotilda*, the last known ship to bring enslaved workers from Africa to the United States in 1860.

Dear Chairman Murkowski and Ranking Member Manchin:

The Society of Architectural Historians (SAH) offers its support to S Res 315, the resolution memorializing the discovery of the *Clotilda*, the last known ship to bring enslaved workers from Africa to the United States in 1860.

Although the slave trade encompassed multiple continents and involved over 20,000 ships, only 13 have been found. Above and beyond its significance as a unique, enormously important archaeological site, the remains of the ship *Clotilda* are a physical representation of Africatown, a community established by survivors of its trans-Atlantic passage. By its presence, the ship's wreckage provides the current residents of Africatown with a connection to their past and to their community, the only town in America founded by African-born former enslaved workers. It has the potential to provide all American citizens with a unique educational source specific to the society scars left by the legacy of slavery as well as the resilience of those most affected by it.

The United States is fortunate to possess a wealth of significant archaeological sites, architectural resources, and cultural landscapes that embody our unique national history. The Society of Architectural Historians requests that you pass S Res 315 and support the preservation of the *Clotilda*. The preservation of the *Clotilda* is essential so that future generations may appreciate and learn from this landmark.

Sincerely,

B_CLG_

Bryan Clark Green, Ph.D., LEED AP BD+C Chair, Society of Architectural Historians Heritage Conservation Committee

cc: Mr. Kenneth Breisch, Ph.D.; Mr. Jeffrey Cody, Ph.D.; Mr. Anthony Cohn, AIA; Ms. Phyllis Ellin; Mr. David Fixler, FAIA; Mr. Sandy Isenstadt, Ph.D.; Mr. Theodore H. Prudon, Ph.D., FAIA, Ms. Pauline Saliga; Ms. Deborah Slaton; Members SAH Heritage Conservation Committee.