We are in the process of upgrading our single sign on, please contact info@sah.org with any issues

Van Courtlandt Elliott Prize

Articles published in 2018 are eligible for the 2020 Elliott prize.

The Van Courtlandt Elliott Prize, established by the Medieval Academy of America in 1971, is awarded annually for a first article in the field of medieval studies, published in a scholarly journal, judged by the selection committee to be of outstanding quality. To be eligible, the author must be resident in North America.”

Van Courtlandt Elliott was Executive Secretary of the Academy and Editor of Speculum from 1965 to 1970. The prize that bears his name consists of a certificate and a monetary award of $500. It is announced at the annual meeting of the academy each spring.

To be eligible, authors must have their permanent residence in North America. The eligibility of the article is determined by the publication year that appears in the journal or book where the article was published. Articles shall be submitted in the year following the publication year. For example, articles bearing a publication date of 2005 were submitted in 2006 for the prize given in 2007.

Articles, published in a scholarly journal, must be at least five pages in length and by a single author whose residence is in North America. A PDF of the article should be sent by email to the Executive Director at LFD@TheMedievalAcademy.org, together with a statement by the author that it is his or her first article in the medieval field.

Submissions must reach the Academy's office no later than 15 October.


SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2019