SAH Newsletter

Ethel Goodstein-Murphree Receives Award From Preserve Arkansas

by Michelle Parks, University of Arkansas | Jan 26, 2016
A professor and associate dean in the Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design at the University of Arkansas has been recognized by Preserve Arkansas for a career dedicated to educating and fostering an appreciation for historic architecture and the importance of its preservation among students in the design professions.

Ethel Goodstein-Murphree,
associate dean and professor of architecture, was awarded the Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement in the 2015 Arkansas Preservation Awards, Preserve Arkansas' only award for achievement in preservation over a period of years. She was among several individuals and organizations honored earlier this month for projects focused on historic preservation, advocacy and education throughout the state. Honorees and guests celebrated with a Jan. 15 reception and banquet at the Albert Pike Masonic Center, followed by a program recognizing award-winning projects and individuals.

Preserve Arkansas works to build stronger communities by reconnecting Arkansans to their heritage and empowering people to save and rehabilitate historic places. The Arkansas Preservation Awards have been given each year since 1981 to recognize important work being done to preserve and protect places of historic or cultural importance.
Read full article here

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610