Publication Awards

Every year, the Society presents five awards honoring the most distinguished publications in architectural history, urban history, landscape history, preservation, and architectural exhibition catalogues that have been published in the previous two years. SAH also presents the Founders' Award for an outstanding JSAH article written by an emerging scholar in the previous two years. 

SAH will accept nominations for the 2017 Publication Awards from June 1, 2016, to August 1, 2016.

Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award

The Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award was established in 1949 to recognize annually the most distinguished work of scholarship in the history of architecture published by a North American scholar. 

Hitchcock Award Past Recipients
2015 Hitchcock Award Winners:
Richard Harris, Building a Market: The Rise of the Home Improvement Industry, 1914–1960 (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2012) 

Christopher Curtis Mead, Making Modern Paris: Victor Baltard’s Central Markets and the Urban Practice (University Park: Pennsylvania State University Press, 2012)

Hitchcock-2015-Building-a-Market   Hitchcock-2015-Making-Modern-Paris

Antoinette Forrester Downing Book Award

For some time, preservationists have been involved in investigating and evaluating the physical fabric of this country and other nations. In order to encourage further research and publication of research in this field, the Society of Architectural Historians has established an annual award for excellence in a published work devoted to historical topics in preservation. Named for Antoinette Forrester Downing, the award honors her scholarship and recognition of the value of local inventories and surveys.

Downing Award Past Recipients

2015 Downing Award Winner:
Ari Kelman, A Misplaced Massacre: Struggling over the Memory of Sand Creek (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2013)


Philip Johnson Exhibition Catalogue Award

As architectural history exhibitions are able to address historical and critical questions in special ways, through the presentation of both documentation and artifacts to a diversified audience, so their catalogues have become distinctive vehicles for the expression of scholarship in architectural history. They remain as the substantial and enduring contribution after the life of the exhibition is spent. In order, therefore, to recognize and encourage excellence in this form of scholarship and publication, the Society of Architectural Historians established its annual Philip Johnson Exhibition Catalogue Award. 

Johnson Award Past Recipients

2015 Johnson Award Winner:
Patricia Bouchenot-Déchin and Georges Farhat, André Le Nôtre in Perspective (Paris: Éditions Hazan, 2013; distributed in the U.S. by Yale University Press)

Honorable Mention:
Susan Weber, William Kent: Designing Georgian Britain (New Haven and London: Yale University Press and the Bard Graduate Center, 2013)

Johnson-2015-Andre-Le-Nôtre-in-Perspective   Johnson-Honorable-Mention-2015-William-Kent

Spiro Kostof Book Award

This award was established in 1993 at the Society's Annual Meeting in Albuquerque, in recognition of Spiro Kostof's extraordinarily productive and inspiring career that was ended by his premature death in December 1991. In the spirit of Kostof's writings, the award is given to a work in any discipline related to urban history that has made the greatest contribution to our understanding of historical development and change.

Kostof Award Past Recipients

2015 Kostof Award Winner:
Mauricio Tenorio-Trillo, I Speak of the City: Mexico City at the Turn of the Twentieth Century (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2012)
Honorable Mention:
Andrew Friedman, Covert Capital: Landscapes of Denial and the Making of U.S. Empire in the Suburbs of Northern Virginia (Berkeley and Los Angeles: University of California Press, 2013)

Kostof-2015-I-Speak-of-the-City   Kostof-Honorable-Mention-2015-Covert-Capital

Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award

The Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award was established by the SAH Board in 2005 to recognize annually the most distinguished work of scholarship in the history of landscape architecture or garden design. Named for SAH past president and landscape historian Elisabeth MacDougall, the award honors the late historian's role in developing this field of study.

MacDougall Award Past Recipients

2015 MacDougall Award Winner:
David E. Coke and Alan Borg, Vauxhall Gardens: A History (New Haven and London: Yale University Press for The Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art, 2011)


Founders' JSAH Article Award

The Founders' Award is given annually for an article published by an emerging scholar in the preceding two years in the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians that exhibits excellence of scholarship and presentation. For the purposes of this award, an "emerging scholar" is defined as someone under the age of 40 or within five years of the completion of a terminal degree at the time of submission of the article. Authors will be asked by the JSAH editor whether they are eligible, and if eligible, authors will be asked to submit a curriculum vitae.

Criteria for Award
  1. Publication in the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians during previous two years Articles from the December issue may be forwarded in galley form. 
  2. Excellence of scholarship and presentation
Upon publication of each issue of the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Founders Award application materials are sent to all eligible JSAH authors. Those interested in being considered for this award are asked to submit a CV to the JSAH editor immediately upon receipt.

Founders' Award Past Recipients
2015 Founders Award Winner
George F. Flaherty, “Responsive Eyes: Urban Logistics and Kinetic Environments for the 1968 Mexico City Olympics,” Journal of Architectural Historians 73, no. 3 (September 2014): 372–397.

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Fund at The Chicago Community Foundation for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2012