SAH News

Buildings of Texas Wins Preservation Texas’ Media Award

by User Not Found | Nov 20, 2013

Preservation Texas recognizes Buildings of Texas for its outstanding coverage of historic preservation issues, projects and local history with its 2013 Texas Media Award

Buildings of Texas: Central, South, and Gulf Coast

Gerald Moorhead’s Buildings of Texas: Central, South and Gulf Coast has won Preservation Texas’ 2013 Texas Media Award for its comprehensive and expert scholarship on Texas’ architectural heritage from pre-statehood days to the present. The book is part of the Buildings of the United States series from the Society of Architectural Historians (SAH), a state-by-state documentation of important buildings across the U.S., written by leading local and national scholars.

Preservation Texas says of Buildings of Texas: “Not only is it a historical record of the built environment of our state, but also a primary reference volume in support of the history and preservation of our state’s architecture. By featuring under-appreciated structures as well as masterworks and by highlighting successful conservation and re-use strategies, the book is an invaluable resource for the efforts to safeguard the state’s architectural inheritance and as a documentation of the role preservation plays in rejuvenating communities.”

Moorhead, a Houston architect, photographer and writer, led the team of experts that wrote Buildings of Texas, which was published by University of Virginia Press in 2013. The first of two volumes dedicated to the Lone Star State, the book covers the Central, South and Gulf Coast regions and four major cities—Austin, Corpus Christi, Houston and San Antonio. Over 1,000 building entries document the most important and representative examples of architectural styles including Spanish missions, log cabins, German stone houses, Victorian courthouses, Moderne stores, contemporary ranch houses and modern skyscrapers, as well as works by world renowned architects.

The Texas Media Award is part of Preservation Texas’ annual Honor Awards program. The awards will be presented on December 5, at Mission San Jose in San Antonio. For more information on the 2013 Honor Awards program, visit

The Society of Architectural Historians is an international nonprofit organization that promotes the study, interpretation and conservation of architecture, design, landscapes and urbanism worldwide. In addition to the Buildings of the United States series, SAH publishes its quarterly print Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians (JSAH) and organizes study tours and the SAH Annual Conference, which will be held in Austin, Texas, April 9-13, 2014. SAH’s digital resources include SAH Archipedia, a media-rich online encyclopedia of American architecture, and SAHARA, a shared online image archive for teaching and research. Visit to learn more.

Download Release (printer-friendly version): Buildings of Texas Wins Preservation Texas’ Media Award

SAH 2018 St Paul Conference

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Fund at The Chicago Community Foundation for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2012