SAH 2019 Annual International Conference

Society of Architectural Historians
72nd Annual International Conference
April 24-28, 2019
Providence, Rhode Island, USA



The submission portal has closed. Thank you.

Tuesday, January 16, 2018, at 5:00 pm CST

Conference Chair
Victoria Young, University of St. Thomas
Local Co-Chairs: Dietrich Neumann, Brown University, and Itohan Osayimwese, Brown University

The Society of Architectural Historians will offer a total of 36 paper sessions at its 2019 Annual International Conference in Providence, Rhode Island. The Society invites its members, including graduate students and independent scholars, representatives of SAH chapters and partner organizations, to chair a session at the conference. As SAH membership is required to chair or present research at the annual conference, non-members who wish to chair a session will be required to join SAH next August 2018 when conference registration opens for Session Chairs and Speakers.

Since the principal purpose of the SAH annual conference is to inform attendees of the general state of research in architectural history and related disciplines, session proposals covering every time period and all aspects of the built environment, including landscape and urban history, are encouraged.

Sessions may be theoretical, methodological, thematic, interdisciplinary, pedagogical, revisionist or documentary in premise and ambition and have broadly conceived or more narrowly focused subjects. Sessions that embrace cross-cultural, transnational and/or non-Western topics are particularly welcome. In every case, the subject should be clearly defined in critical and historical terms.

Proposals will be selected on the basis of merit and the need to create a well-balanced program. Topics exploring the architecture of Providence and the greater region are encouraged.

Since late submissions cannot be considered, it is recommended that proposals be submitted well before the deadline. Last-minute submissions that fail posting in the online portal or are sent in error via email cannot be considered.

Submission Guidelines
Session proposals must be submitted online by 5:00 p.m. CST, Tuesday, January 16, 2018. The submission portal will close automatically at this time, and no further proposals will be accepted. Proposals will be reviewed and selected by a committee chaired by SAH Conference Chair Victoria Young.

Session proposals must include the following elements:

  1. A session title not longer than 65 characters, including spaces and punctuation
  2. Summary of the subject and the premise in no more than 500 words
  3. Name, professional affiliation (if applicable), address, telephone, and email address (Please ensure that the information you are providing matches, if applicable, an existing SAH profile/membership account to avoid misdirecting communications. If it does not match what SAH has on file, please update your existing member profile to match your current information.)
  4. A current CV (2 pages maximum)

Although the SAH membership is international, the annual conference is conducted in English. Therefore, all session proposals must be submitted in English and, if accepted, conducted in English.

The submission portal has closed. Thank you.

Only proposals submitted through the online portal can be considered.

Authors (maximum of 2) of accepted session proposals will be asked to draft a more concise call for papers of no more than 300 words. This will be posted online on April 3, 2018, and published in the April 2018 issue of the SAH Newsletter. For examples, see the 2018 Call for Papers (session descriptions begin on page 4).

To ensure broad participation in the SAH Annual International Conference, individuals are limited to the role of either a session chair OR a speaker. If you are selected as a session chair you may not submit a paper abstract to other sessions to be considered for speaking.

Each Session Chair and Speaker is expected to fund his or her own travel and related expenses to participate in the conference. A copy of the Session Chair and Speaker Agreement that includes deadlines and step-by-step processes will be distributed to both Session Chairs and Speakers. Session Chairs and Speakers are required to join SAH and pre-register for the conference starting in August 2018.

For more information, please contact Conference Chair Victoria Young at or SAH Director of Programs Christopher Kirbabas at


October 03, 2017, 3 pm CDT
Call for sessions opens

January 16, 2018, 5 pm CST
Deadline to submit a session proposal

February 23, 2018
Session selection notification

March 9, 2018, 5 pm CDT
Revised session proposals due

April 3, 2018, 3 pm CDT
Call for papers opens

June 5, 2018, 5 pm CDT
Deadline to submit a paper abstract

June 7, 2018
Session Chairs start reviewing paper submissions

July 13, 2018
Session Chairs make final selection of papers and notify speakers

August 1, 2018
Session Chair & Speaker registration opens

September 27, 2018
Session Chair & Speaker registration closes
Victoria Young
SAH 1st Vice President-Elect
University of St. Thomas

Dietrich Neumann
Brown University

Itohan Osayimwese
Brown University

Rhode Island Convention Center
One Sabin Street
Providence, RI 02903

Christopher Kirbabas
SAH Director of Programs
(312) 573-1365



Ken Tadashi Oshima 
University of Washington

1st Vice President
Sandy Isenstadt
University of Delaware

2nd Vice President
Victoria Young
University of St. Thomas

Kathryn O’Rourke
Trinity University
Michael J. Gibson
Greenberg, Whitcombe, Takeuchi, Gibson & Graver, LLP

Executive Director
Pauline Saliga


Christopher Drew Armstrong
University of Pittsburgh

Maristella Casciato
The Getty Research Institute

Luis M. Castañeda
Syracuse University

Edward Dimendberg
University of California, Irvine

Anat Geva
Texas A&M University

R. Scott Gill
University of Texas at Austin

Greg Hise
University of Nevada

Timothy Hyde
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Aric Lasher
HBRA Architects

Jorge Otero-Pailos
Columbia University

David Rifkind
Florida International University

D. Fairchild Ruggles
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Arijit Sen
University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Cynthia Weese
Weese Langley Weese Architects Ltd.

Claire Zimmerman
University of Michigan


Bryan Clark Green
Commonwealth Architects

Karen Kingsley
Buildings of the United States
Emerita, Tulane University

Jeffrey Klee
SAHARA Co-Editor
Colonial Williamsburg 

Patricia A. Morton
JSAH Editor
University of California - Riverside

Virginia Price
SAH Chapter Liaison
Southeast Chapter Society of Architectural Historians

Jacqueline Spafford
SAHARA Co-Editor
University of California, Santa Barbara 

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Fund at The Chicago Community Foundation for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2012