Awards for Architectural Excellence

2012 Awards for Architectural Excellence

The SAH Awards for Architectural Excellence represent a unique coming together of architectural practice and academic study, honoring the contributions of individual projects to our built environment. These awards are presented at the annual SAH Awards Gala in Chicago.

Award Recipients

Award for Excellence in Design, Planning, and Sustainability

  Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture
2012   Philip J. Enquist, FAIA, of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Award for Excellence in Architectural Media
2014    Wilbert Hasbrouck, FAIA, and Marilyn Hasbrouck, founders of The Prairie School Review and Prairie Avenue Bookshop 
2013    Judith Paine McBrien, director of the Archimedia Workshop 
2012    Geoffrey Baer, producer and program host at WTTW in Chicago
2012    Gwendolyn Wright, professor of architecture and planning at Columbia University and host of the PBS series History Detectives

Award for Excellence in Architectural Criticism
2013    Blair Kamin, architecture critic at the Chicago Tribune 

Award for Excellence in Architectural Stewardship
2013    Zoë Ryan, Alison Fisher and Karen Kice of the Department of Architecture and Design at the Art Institute of Chicago

Award for Excellence in Architectural Conservation
2014   Robert Furhoff, historic paint analyst and restoration consultant 
2012    John Eifler, FAIA, principal of Eifler Associates

Award for Excellence in Preservation Advocacy
2014    Ben Weese, FAIA, principal of Weese Langley Weese 

Award for Excellence in Stewardship of the Built Environment
2014    Tim Samuelson, City of Chicago Cultural Historian 

Award for Excellence in Conservation of the Natural Environment
2014    Toni Preckwinkle, Cook County Board President 

Previous Honorees

2011    John Vinci, Vinci-Hamp Architects
2011    Mary Zimmerman, Playwright & Director, Lookingglass & Goodman Theatres
2011    Sophia Siskel, CEO, Chicago Botanic Garden
2010    Chicago Seven
Thomas H. Beeby
Stuart Cohen, FAIA 
Laurence O. Booth, AIA, Booth Hansen & Associates
Stanley Tigerman, FAIA, Tigerman-McCurry Architects Limited
Ben Weese, FAIA, Weese Langley Weese Architects Limited
James L. Nagle, FAIA, Nagle Hartray 
2010    Chicago Women in Architecture founders
Gertrude Lempp Kerbis, Lempp Kerbis Associates
Carol Ross Barney, FAIA, Ross Barney Architects
Cynthia Weese, FAIA, Weese Langley Weese Architects Limited
Nancy A. Abshire, AIA RIBA, SOM Foundation
Gunduz Dagdelen
Natalie de Blois
Jane M. Jacobsen
Laura Fisher 

Gala Video

Watch video playlists of the SAH Awards Gala on YouTube.

2013 SAH Awards Gala
2012 SAH Awards Gala
SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Fund at The Chicago Community Foundation for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2012