Registration for the David Osler architectural studio tour is now open.
Sunday, August 10, 2 pm – 5 pm
This event has limited space availability. Cost: $10/person. Registration is required.
Osler’s architectural studio was built in 1902 by the Washtenaw Light and Power (predecessor of Detroit Edison) as a place to change voltage from high to low, it had been empty since 1949. Windows were missing. The slate on the roof was damaged from the years of being jiggled by all the trains going by. Conduit insulators were sticking out just below the roof. The inside was a total mess. In addition, the neighborhood, then filled with ramshackle houses, was considered a bad part of town. Osler admits “there were not many who would want it,” but he could see the possibilities. “It was like the building was shaking hands with me,” says David Osler, describing turning a deserted electric power substation into a modern office. He made the dilapidated shell into a useable space and then put on an addition, staying within the perimeters allowed by the structure and lot. The tour will show how a historical building can successfully be repurposed. The current owners of the building, Dr. Kristine Freeark and Dr. Robert Zucker, will be in attendance to answer questions about the most recent reuse of the building.
Light refreshments will be served.
a2modern is a 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to the awareness of and appreciation for mid-century architecture and design, celebrating the accomplishments of the architects, designers, builders, and homeowners in Ann Arbor. UMMA is pleased to partner with a2modern to provide audiences the opportunity to experience Ann Arbor’s modernist architecture in conjunction with the exhibition Three Michigan Architects: Part 3—George Brigham on view July 19 –October 12, 2014.
The exhibition Three Michigan Architects: Part 3—George Brigham is the final in a series of architectural exhibitions that also featured Michigan Architects David Osler (Part 1) and Robert Metcalf (Part 2). It is part of the U-M Collections Collaborations series, co-organized by and presented at UMMA and designed to showcase the renowned and diverse collections at the University of Michigan.
Space is limited
The office is located at 916 Fuller Street. There is not enough room to park at this location so, you will need to park nearby and walk a bit to get to the office. Some suggestions:
To the east (toward Glen):
On Glen Court there are spaces on the street with no time limit. At the end of Glen Ct. is a U of M parking structure (open on weekends and weekdays after 6 p.m.). No UM permit is required on Sundays. [This is kitty corner to Angelo's and has plenty of parking]
In the other direction there’s parking on State St. and on High St.