Member News

SAH Members Jacob D. Albert & Robert A.M. Stern Receive ICAA 2018 Stanford White Awards

by SAH News | Jan 10, 2019

SAH members and architects Jacob D. Albert and Robert A.M. Stern both received awards from ICAA for recently completed projects.  

On Wednesday, December 5th 2018
, the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA) celebrated the winners of the 2018 Stanford White Awards at the Metropolitan Club in New York City. The awards recognize achievement in individual projects in architecture, interiors, landscape, urbanism, and building craftsmanship & artisanship throughout New York, New Jersey, and Fairfield County, Connecticut. 

Stanford White Awards Co-Chair and ICAA Board Member, Clay Hayles, and ICAA New York Committee Chair, Adrian Taylor, delivered welcoming remarks to the 330 guests in attendance at the sold-out event. ICAA President Peter Lyden introduced Barbara Eberlein – President and Creative Director of Eberlein Design Consultants based in Philadelphia, PA, and an ICAA Board Member – who served as emcee for the awards ceremony, and presented the 14 awards for winning projects in classical and traditional architecture and design to each recipient.

Jury members Barbara Eberlein, Jeff Shelton of Jeff Shelton Architect, and Alex Smith of Alex Smith Garden Design selected this year’s award laureates.

The ICAA is honored to recognize the winners of the 2018 Stanford White Awards:

Residential Architecture – New Construction Under 5,000 SF
Albert, Righter & Tittmann Architects, Harbor View

Residential Architecture – New Construction Over 5,000 SF
Ferguson & Shamamian Architects, A New Residence and Guest House in East Hampton

Residential Architecture – Renovations & Additions
Fairfax & Sammons Architects, Vista Del Porto

Residential Architecture – Townhouses & Apartments
Lichten Craig Architecture and Interiors, A Restored Home in the Osborne Apartments
McAlpine, Restrained Drama: A New House in Lincoln Park

Residential Architecture – Ancillary Structures
Charles Hilton Architects, Pool Pergola on a Country Estate

Commercial, Civic, & Institutional Architecture
Robert A.M. Stern Architects, Museum of the American Revolution

Interior Design – Houses
G.P. Schafer Architect, A New Plantation Residence

Interior Design – One Room
Lichten Craig Architecture and Interiors with Anne Harris Studio, Private Women’s Club Lounge

Landscape Design
Doyle Herman Design Associates, Main Line Estate
Janice Parker Landscape Architects, The Hayfields

Historic Preservation
PBDW Architects, SoHo Cast Iron Historic District Building

Craftsmanship & Artisanship
PBDW Architects, Lindeberg House Door Design

Student Project
Coltan Severson, Academy for the Study of Classical Antiquity

ICAA Board Members Mark Ferguson, Barbara Eberlein, John Flower, Clay Hayles, Kirk Henckels, Michael Mesko, Mark Pledger, and Foster Reeve were in attendance. 

ICAA friends and supporters including Rhett Butler, Andrew Cogar, Johnny Donadic, Elizabeth Graziolo, Sarah Magness, John B. Murray, Mitchell Owens, Peter Pennoyer, James Reginato, Janet C. Ross, Eric J. Smith, Nicholas S.G. Stern, Joseph A. Tuana, Pilar Viladas, and Douglas C. Wright were present among many others. Alice Kriz, 2018 Stanford White Awards Co-Chair, was also in attendance.

View photos here.

Jacob D. Albert joined SAH in 1988 and Robert A.M. Stern joined in 1960. They are both Life members of SAH. 

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2012