Members in the News

Guggenheim Fellows Announced:  Daniel A. Barber and Mario Carpo

by John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundtion | Apr 19, 2022

In 1925, Senator Simon Guggenheim and his wife, Olga, established the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation in memory of their late son, a promising young scholar who died at the age of 17. In his first letter of gift, Senator Guggenheim wrote that the organization’s aim was to “add to the educational, literary, artistic, and scientific power of this country.” The Guggenheim Foundation offers fellowships to exceptional individuals in pursuit of scholarship in any field of knowledge and creation of any artform, under the freest possible conditions and irrespective of race, color, or creed.

Guggenheim Fellowships are intended for mid-career individuals who have demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts and exhibit great promise for their future endeavors. 

Fellowships are awarded through an annual competition open to citizens and permanent residents of the United States and Canada. Candidates must apply to the Guggenheim Foundation in order to be considered.

The Committee of Selection forwards its recommendations to the Board of Trustees for final approval. The successful candidates in the United States and Canada competition are announced in early April.

2022 Fellows in Architecture, Planning, & Design

  • Daniel A. Barber, Associate Professor of Architecture, Chair of Graduate Group in Architecture, University of Pennsylvania
  • Mario Carpo, Reyner Banham Professor of Architectural History and Theory, University College London

Daniel A. Barber initially joined SAH in 2008.  He received an SAH Mellon Author Award in 2014.  He was a Session Chair at the 2015 Annual conference, and a speaker at the 2016 Conference.  He has served on the JSAH Editorial Advisory Committee and currently serves on the Strategic Planning Committee.

Mario Carpo joined SAH in 1996.  He was awarded the Spiro Kostof Book Award in 2003.  He served as a Speaker at the 1999 and 2007 Annual Conferences, and as a Session Chair at the 2002 and 2005 Annual conferences.

To see all 2022 Fellows, click here.


SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610