Members in the News

American Academy of Arts & Sciences names Eve Blau and Suzanne Blier as new members

by American Academy of Arts & Sciences | May 10, 2022

[April 28, 2022 | Cambridge, MA] – Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences honors excellence and convenes leaders to examine new ideas, address issues of importance to the nation and the world, and advance the public good.

For more than 240 years, the Academy has been electing and engaging exceptional individuals. This year’s election of 261 new members continues a tradition of recognizing accomplishments and leadership in academia, the arts, industry, public policy, and research.

“We are celebrating a depth of achievements in a breadth of areas,” said David Oxtoby, President of the American Academy. “These individuals excel in ways that excite us and inspire us at a time when recognizing excellence, commending expertise, and working toward the common good is absolutely essential to realizing a better future.”

“The Academy was founded on the belief that the new republic should honor truly accomplished individuals and engage them in meaningful work,” said Nancy C. Andrews, Chair of the Academy’s Board of Directors. “The Academy’s dual mission continues to this day. Membership is an honor, and also an opportunity to shape ideas and influence policy in areas as diverse as the arts, democracy, education, global affairs, and science.”

Read the full article here


  • Eve Blau, Harvard University Graduate School of Design
  • Suzanne Preston Blier, Harvard University

See the  full list of 2022 members in various classes and sections here

Eve Blau joined SAH in 1975. She has won the following SAH awards: Exhibition Catalogue Award (1991), Spiro Kostof Book Award (2000), Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award (2001), and was made a Fellow of the Society in 2018. She has served on and chaired the Exhibition Catalogue Award Committee, and served as JSAH Editor from 1997 to 2000.

Suzanne Blier initially joined SAH in 2009. She served on the SAH Board from 2009 to 2012.  


SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610