Members in the News

Ann C. Huppert Appointed a Senior Visiting Fellow at The Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts, National Gallery

by National Gallery of Art | Aug 24, 2022

The Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts (the Center), (CASVA) an internationally renowned research institution that brings distinguished scholars from around the world to the National Gallery of Art, has announced its 2022–2023 academic year appointments. They include H. Perry Chapman of the University of Delaware (emerita) as Kress-Beinecke Professor, Adriana Zavala of Tufts University as Andrew W. Mellon Professor, and Gail Feigenbaum as Edmond J. Safra Visiting Professor. Stephen D. Houston of Brown University will deliver the 72nd A. W. Mellon Lectures in the Fine Arts in spring 2023.

In addition to this list of appointees, eight senior fellows and nine visiting senior fellows have been appointed to the Center, along with two National Gallery of Art sabbatical fellows, two postdoctoral fellows, six predoctoral fellows and an additional predoctoral guest scholar in residence, 12 predoctoral fellows not in residence, and four predoctoral historians of American art who were awarded fellowships to travel abroad.

“One of our largest classes on record, this year’s members represent the future of art history scholarship,” said Steven Nelson, dean of the Center. “Their research will further our collective understanding of artistic histories that have been traditionally underexplored.”

Research topics vary widely, from the effect of migrants on American architecture to the roles of gender in contemporary Native American art. Center members in residence will benefit from offices in the National Gallery’s East Building Study Center and the resources of the National Gallery of Art Library.

Ann C. Huppert, University of Washington has been appointed an Ailsa Mellon Bruce Visiting Senior Fellow for fall, 2022.  She will be researching Building Knowledge:  The Culture of Construction in 16th-Century Rome.

Read more about the CASVA fellowships and see a full list of recipients here

Ann C. Huppert joined SAH in 1993.  She received the Samuel H. Kress Foundation Fellowship in 2005, and an SAH Mellon Author Award in 2014.  She served as a speaker at the 2015 Annual Conference, and as a Session Chair at the 2019 Annual Conference,  She currently serves as a JSAH Book Review Editor for Europe, Africa, and Asia to 1750. 


SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610