Members in the News

SAH Members among 2023 Graham Foundation Grants

by SAH News | May 18, 2023

The Graham Foundation is pleased to announce our 2023 grants to individuals—64 projects by 92 individuals from around the world. SAH is fortunate to have 11 current members among the grantees, and evidence that SAH members are doing important work.  

Founded in 1956, the Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts fosters the development and exchange of diverse and challenging ideas about architecture and its role in the arts, culture, and society. The Graham realizes this vision through making project-based grants to individuals and organizations and producing exhibitions, events, and publications.

The following SAH members and their projects were among the 2023 Awards:

Huda Tayob:      Exhibition     Index of Edges

Kenny Cupers :  New Media   Kamirithu Theatre: An Architecture for Decolonization

Ana Miljački:       Podcast         I Would Prefer Not To

Craig Buckley:     Publication   The Street and the Screen: Architectures of Spectatorship in the Age of Cinema

Anna Godman:   Publication   Citizen Architects:  How Hands-on Building in Architectural Education Shaped a Nation

Manuel Shvartzberg Carrio: Publication  Inland Empire:  Settler Colonialism, Modern Architecture, and the Rise of                                                                                       American Hegemony

Davide Spina:     Publication     Roman Leviathan:  Architecture and Capitalism in Postwar Italy

Stathis Yeros:     Publication     Queering Urbanism:  Architecture, Embodiment, and Queer Citizenship

Claire Zimmerman:  Publication   Albert Kahn, Inc. and the Architecture of Capitalism, 1905-1961

Yasmina El Chami:   Research  Building "International Goodwill":  American Campuses in the "Near East," 1919-1964

Deepa Ramaswamy:  Research   Reclaimed Lands:  The Ecological Legacies of Colonial Bombay's Coasts

To read about the projects and all of the grant recipients, click here. There is a brief biography of each recipient following the description of their project.  


SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610