2024 Book Prize Nominations Request from UVA Center for Cultural Landscapes

The University of Virginia Center for Cultural Landscapes invites you to submit publications for this year’s 2024 John Brinckerhoff Jackson Book Prize and David R. Coffin Publication Grant. We welcome nominations for the John Brinckerhoff Jackson Book Prize and the David R. Coffin Publication Grant from both publishers and authors.  

The John Brinckerhoff Jackson Book Prize will be awarded to a book published in the last three years (2021, 2022, 2023) that has made a significant contribution to the study and understanding of garden history and landscape design. The prize winner will be invited to give a book talk at the University of Virginia and presented with a monetary award. The application deadline for the John Brinckerhoff Jackson Book Prize is May 1, 2024. Note, the change in this deadline from previous years is to better align with the academic calendar and availability of the jury.  

The David R. Coffin Publication Grant supports the production of a future publication of a manuscript under contract in the field of landscape studies. The application deadline for the David R. Coffin Publication Grant is January 1, 2024.  

Detailed descriptions of the eligibility requirements, application procedures, and past winners for each award can be found on the Center for Cultural Landscapes website. Note that a single winner will be chosen for each prize in 2024, a change from past years.  

Award recipients will be selected by a jury composed of three landscape studies scholars who serve staggered three-year terms. The jury chair is Elizabeth Meyer, founding director of the Center for Cultural Landscapes, University of Virginia. Professor Emeritus Kenneth Helphand, University of Oregon, and Associate Professor Sarah Lopez, University of Pennsylvania round out the 2024 jury. Professor Jane Wolff returns to the jury next year.  

Please submit all inquiries to Lsibookprize@virginia.edu with the subject heading: 2024 Book Prize Nomination. Include author and publisher contact information in your email query. We will reply with the three jurors’ individual mailing addresses. Please include publisher and author contact name, address, email, and phone number with each of the three packages. This will facilitate the award notification process. 

Join the Society of Architectural Historians

Membership is open to all who have an interest in the history of the built environment and its role in shaping contemporary life.

Become a Member

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610