UVA School of Architecture: 2022 Landscape Studies Initiative Book Awards

by University of Virginia School of Architecture | May 31, 2022

The Center for Cultural Landscapes at the UVA School of Architecture is pleased to announce the 2022 Landscape Studies Initiative books awards. These awards celebrate recent (2019-2021) scholarly publications of landscape historians, historical geographers, urban historians and art historians involved in landscape studies and the environmental humanities. The Center for Cultural Landscapes is honored to be continuing these books awards, initiated by Elizabeth Barlow Rogers and the Foundation for Landscape Studies (FLS) in 2007. This year’s book awards jury, Kenneth Helphand, Therese O’Malley and Reuben Rainey, are respected scholars as well as long-term FLS Board members and book award jury members. We are grateful for their leadership, participation and discernment in this transitional year as the book prizes are being transferred from the Foundation for Landscape Studies to the University of Virginia. They selected ten authors and their books to receive the 2022 John Brinckerhoff Jackson Book Prize  and one author to receive the David R. Coffin Publication Grant.

Among the honorees:

Stephen H. Whiteman
Where Dragon Veins Meet: The Kangxi Emperor and His Estate at Rehe
University of Washington Press 2020

This book...fills a monumental gap in the art, architectural, and landscape histories of the early modern world, providing a long-overdue interdisciplinary discussion of the Qing emperor whose reign and works overlapped with those of better-studied contemporaries.
— Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians

Stephen H. Whiteman joined SAH in 2011. He was awarded a SAHARA Travel Fellowship in 2013.  He was a speaker at the 2014 and 2018 SAH Annual International Conferences, and served as a session chair at the 2021 Virtual Conference.  He has also served as a member of the International Committee in 2014-2016. His book, Where Dragon Veins Meet: The Kangxi Emperor and His Estate at Rehe, received an honorable mention for the 2022 Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award.

To see all awarded books for 2022, click here


Founded in 1940, the Society of Architectural Historians is an international nonprofit membership organization that promotes the study, interpretation and conservation of architecture, design, landscapes and urbanism worldwide. SAH serves a network of local, national and international institutions and individuals who, by profession or interest, focus on the built environment and its role in shaping contemporary life. SAH promotes meaningful public engagement with the history of the built environment through advocacy efforts, print and online publications, and local, national and international programs.

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610