SAH News

SAH Book Awards Deadline - August 3

by User Not Found | Jul 16, 2013
The Society of Architectural Historians is currently accepting nominations for the 2014 SAH Book Awards.

The Society’s Book Award program includes five awards which will be presented at the Society’s Annual Conference in Austin, Texas, April 9-13, 2014. We will be accepting nominations for book awards until August 3, 2013 

Authors - If you have a book that you would like to submit for consideration, please contact your publisher representative to send the book. Book submissions must come directly from the publisher. 

The committees selecting winners for 2014 will be considering books with copyright dates of 2011 and 2012. (Years 2010, 2011, and 2012 for the MacDougall Award.) 

Antoinette Forrester Downing Book Award: Presented for an outstanding publication devoted to historical issues in the preservation field 

Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award: Presented for distinguished scholarship by a North American author in the history of architecture 

Philip Johnson Exhibition Catalogue Award: Presented for excellence in published exhibition catalogues 

Spiro Kostof Book Award: Presented for work that focuses on urbanism and architecture and provides the greatest contribution to our understanding of historical development and change 

Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award: Presented for distinguished scholarship in the history of landscape architecture or garden design 

Detailed information on each of the above awards regarding criteria, contact & submission information, description, past winners, etc, can be found on our website

Please feel free to contact me with any questions you may have about our award program, its process, or about any of the Society’s programs. 

If you have questions, please contact:

Beth Eifrig
Assistant Director of Programs
Society of Architectural Historians


SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2019