SAH Fellows



The Board of Directors names as Fellows of the Society of Architectural Historians individuals who have distinguished themselves by a lifetime of significant contributions to the field. These contributions may include scholarship, service to the Society, or stewardship of the built environment. The 2018 SAH Fellows will be inducted at the Society’s 71st Annual International Conference Awards Ceremony on April 20, in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

Eve Blau, FSAH

Eve BlauEve Blau is adjunct professor of the history of urban form at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design. Her research engages a range of issues in urban and architectural history and theory and the productive intersection of urbanism and media. Her books include Baku: Oil and Urbanism (2018); The Architecture of Red Vienna 1919–1934/ Rotes Wien: Architektur 1919–1934. Stadt-Raum-Politik (1999/2014); Project Zagreb: Transition as Condition, Strategy, Practice (2007); Urban Form. Städtebau in der postfordistischen Gesellschaft (2003); Shaping the Great City: Modern Architecture in Central Europe (2000); Architecture and Cubism (2001/1997); and Architecture and Its Image: Four Centuries of Architectural Representation (1989). She is co-principal investigator of the Harvard Mellon Urban Initiative, Reconceptualizing the Urban: Interdisciplinary Study of Urban Environments, Societies, and Cultures, (2013–2018). Her books have received several awards, including SAH’s Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award, Spiro Kostof Book Award, and Philip Johnson Exhibition Catalogue Award; the Austrian Cultural Institute Prize; and the AIA Citation for Excellence in International Architectural Book Publishing. In 2015 Blau received the Victor Adler-State Prize of the Republic of Austria in recognition of her innovative scholarship and contributions to the history of social movements. Before Harvard, Blau was curator of exhibitions and publications at the Canadian Centre for Architecture in Montréal, and editor of the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians. She is president of the board of directors of the American Friends of the Canadian Centre for Architecture, Montréal, and past vice president of the International Scholarly Advisory Board of the IFK Internationales Forschungszentrum Kulturwissenschaften, Vienna.

Swati Chattopadhyay, FSAH

Swati ChattopadhyaySwati Chattopadhyay is professor in the Department of History of Art and Architecture and the Comparative Literature Program at the University of California, Santa Barbara. An architect and architectural historian, she has written widely on modern architecture and urbanism, infrastructure, popular culture and subalternity, and the British Empire. She is the author of Representing Calcutta: Modernity, Nationalism, and the Colonial Uncanny (Routledge, 2005); Unlearning the City: Infrastructure in a New Optical Field (Minnesota, 2012); and coeditor with Jeremy White of two volumes, City Halls and Civic Materialism: Towards a Global History of Urban Public Space (Routledge, 2014) and Critical Approaches to Contemporary Architecture (Routledge, 2018, forthcoming). Her fellowships and awards include a Guggenheim Fellowship; a Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study Fellowship; a Birkbeck Institute for the Humanities Fellowship, University of London; a Distinguished Visiting Fellowship from Queen Mary, University of London; two fellowships from the American Institute of Indian Studies; a J. Paul Getty Fellowship; a National Science Foundation Grant; and SAH’s Founder's Award. She has served as the director of the Subaltern-Popular Workshop, a University of California Multi-campus Research Group, and as the editor of the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians.

Kenneth Frampton, FSAH

Kenneth FramptonKenneth Frampton was born in 1930 and trained as an architect at the Architectural Association School of Architecture, London. He has worked as an architect and as an architectural historian and critic, and is now Ware Professor at the Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, Columbia University, New York. He has taught at a number of leading institutions in the field, including the Royal College of Art in London, the ETH in Zurich, the Berlage Institute in Amsterdam, EPFL in Lausanne, and the Accademia di Architettura in Medrisio. Frampton is the author of numerous essays on modern and contemporary architecture, and has served on many international juries for architectural awards and building commissions. In addition to Modern Architecture: A Critical History, his publications include Studies in Tectonic Culture, Labour, Work and Architecture, and A Genealogy of Modern Architecture: Comparative Critical Analysis of Built Form.​

Henry H. Kuehn, FSAH

Henry H. KuehnHenry H. Kuehn has spent his professional career in the medical products industry. Ever since attending an undergraduate course taught by the late Vincent Scully, Kuehn has devoted much of his life to pursuing his deep interest in architectural history. He has been longtime active docent, past chairman and life trustee of the Chicago Architecture Foundation, past president of the Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts, and is a member of the Architecture and Design Committee of the Art Institute of Chicago. He served as treasurer on the executive committee of the Society of Architectural Historians for many years. He is a trustee of Chicago’s Graceland Cemetery and a volunteer architectural docent in Columbus, Indiana, where he specializes in tours of the Miller House and Garden designed by a triumvirate of Modernst icons, Eero Saarinen, Alexander Girard and Dan Kiley. Kuehn has spoken on a wide range of architectural topics and has led many tours on architecture. He also serves on the board of Goettsch Partners, a Chicago architectural firm. After many years of research, the MIT Press recently published his work on the grave sites of important American architects in a book titled, Architects’ Graves.  He currently resides in Louisville, KY.  He holds a Bachelor of Engineering degree from Yale University and an MBA from Harvard University.


Barry Bergdoll
Richard J. Betts
Michael Blackwood
Eve Blau
Rosemarie Haag Bletter
David Brownlee
Kathryn Bishop Eckert
Swati Chattopadhyay
Norma Evenson
Diane Favro
Kenneth Frampton
Jean R. France
Francis R. Kowsky
Carol Herselle Krinsky
Henry H. Kuehn
Phyllis Lambert
Richard Longstreth
Barbara Miller Lane
Christopher Curtis Mead
Eileen Michels
Naomi Miller
Keith N. Morgan
Joan Ockman
James F. O’Gorman
Therese O'Malley
C. Ford Peatross
Jack Quinan
Robert B. Rettig
Joseph Rykwert
Pauline Saliga
Robert A. M. Stern, FAIA
Nancy Stieber
Damie Stillman
Stanley Tigerman, FAIA, RAAR
Dell Upton
Patricia Waddy
Robert W. Winter
Gwendolyn Wright

Fellows in memoriam

James S. Ackerman
Hilary M. Ballon
H. Allen Brooks
Marian Card Donnelly
John D. Forbes
Alan W. Gowans
Richard Howland
Ada Louise Huxtable
William L. MacDonald
Elisabeth Blair MacDougall
Carter H. Manny, FAIA
Henry A. Millon
Denys Peter Myers
Osmund Overby
Seymour H. Persky
Charles E. Peterson
William H. Pierson Jr.
Adolph K. Plazek
Jessie J. Poesch
Vincent Scully
George B. Tatum
Barbara Wriston

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2012