Call for Sessions

SAH Seattle Call for Sessions

Call for Session Proposals

Society of Architectural Historians 
2020 Annual International Conference 
Seattle, Washington, April 29–May 3

The Call for Sessions has closed. Thank you.

11:59 p.m. CST, Tuesday, January 15, 2019

Conference Chair: Victoria Young, University of St. Thomas
Local Co-Chairs: Ann C. Huppert, University of Washington, and Thaisa Way, University of Washington

The Society of Architectural Historians will offer a total of 36 paper sessions at its 2020 Annual International Conference in Seattle, Washington. The Society invites its members, including graduate students, independent scholars and representatives of SAH chapters and partner organizations, to chair a session at the conference. As SAH membership is required to chair or present research at the annual conference, non-members who wish to chair a session will be required to join SAH next August 2019 when conference registration opens for Session Chairs and Speakers.

Since the principal purpose of the SAH annual conference is to inform attendees of the general state of research in architectural history and related disciplines, session proposals covering every time period and all aspects of the built environment, including landscape and urban history, are encouraged.

Sessions may be theoretical, methodological, thematic, interdisciplinary, pedagogical, revisionist or documentary in premise and ambition and have broadly conceived or more narrowly focused subjects. Sessions that embrace cross-cultural, transnational and/or non-Western topics are particularly welcome. In every case, the subject should be clearly defined in critical and historical terms.

Proposals will be selected on the basis of merit and the need to create a well-balanced program. Topics exploring the architecture of Seattle and the greater region are encouraged.

Since late submissions cannot be considered, it is recommended that proposals be submitted well before the deadline. Last-minute submissions that fail posting in the online portal or are sent in error via email cannot be considered.

Submission Guidelines

Session proposals must be submitted online by 11:59 p.m. CST, Tuesday, January 15, 2019. The submission portal will close automatically at this time, and no further proposals will be accepted. Proposals will be reviewed by SAH Conference Chair, Victoria Young, and the SAH Executive Committee.

Session proposals must include the following elements:

  1. A session title not longer than 65 characters, including spaces and punctuation
  2. Summary of the subject and the premise in no more than 500 words
  3. Name, professional affiliation (if applicable), address, telephone, and email address (Please ensure that the information you are providing matches, if applicable, an existing SAH profile/membership account to avoid misdirecting communications. If it does not match what SAH has on file, please update your existing member profile to match your current information.)
  4. A current CV (2 pages maximum)

Although the SAH membership is international, the annual conference is conducted in English. Therefore, all session proposals must be submitted in English and, if accepted, conducted in English.

The Call for Sessions has closed.

Only proposals submitted through the online portal can be considered.

Authors (maximum of 2) of accepted session proposals will be asked to draft a more concise call for papers of no more than 300 words. This will be posted online on April 3, 2019, and published in the April 2019 issue of the SAH Newsletter. For examples, see the 2019 Call for Papers.

To ensure broad participation in the SAH Annual International Conference, individuals are limited to submitting one session proposal and are limited to the role of EITHER a session chair OR a speaker. If you are selected as a Session Chair you may NOT submit a paper abstract to other sessions when the Call for Papers opens.

Each Session Chair and Speaker is expected to fund his or her own travel and related expenses to participate in the conference. A copy of the Session Chair and Speaker Agreement that includes deadlines and step-by-step processes will be distributed to both Session Chairs and Speakers. Session Chairs and Speakers are required to join SAH and pre-register for the conference starting in August 2019.


For more information, please contact Conference Chair Victoria Young at or SAH Director of Programs Christopher Kirbabas at

Key Dates

October 02, 2018, 3 pm CDT
Call for Sessions opens

January 15, 2019, 11:59 pm CST
Deadline to submit a session proposal

February 22, 2019
Session selection notification

March 8, 2019, 5 pm CDT
Revised session proposals due

April 3, 2019, 3 pm CDT
Call for Papers opens

June 5, 2019, 11:59 pm CDT
Deadline to submit a paper abstract

June 6, 2019
Session Chairs start reviewing paper submissions

July 12, 2019
Session Chairs make final selection of papers and notify speakers

August 1, 2019
Session Chair & Speaker registration opens

September 30, 2019, 11:59 pm CDT
Session Chair & Speaker registration closes

SAH Board of Directors

Sandy Isenstadt
University of Delaware

First Vice President
Victoria Young
University of St. Thomas

Second Vice President
Patricia A. Morton
University of California, Riverside

Kathryn O’Rourke
Trinity University
Michael J. Gibson
Greenberg, Whitcombe, Takeuchi, Gibson & Graver, LLP

Executive Director
Pauline Saliga

Ramla Benaissa
Ramla Benaissa Architects

Edward Dimendberg
University of California, Irvine

Gail Dubrow
University of Minnesota

George Flaherty
University of Texas at Austin

Anat Geva
Texas A&M University

Mark Hinchman
University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Heather Hyde Minor
University of Notre Dame

Kathleen James-Chakraborty
University College Dublin

Aric Lasher
HBRA Architects

Itohan Osayimwese
Brown University

David Rifkind
Florida International University

Arijit Sen
University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Jennifer Tate
University of Texas at Austin

Konrad Wos
Wos & Wos Development Corp.

Claire Zimmerman
University of Michigan

Bryan Clark Green
Commonwealth Architects

Keith Eggener
JSAH Editor
University of Oregon

Karen Kingsley
Buildings of the United States
Emerita, Tulane University

Jeffrey Klee
SAHARA Co-Editor
Colonial Williamsburg 

Virginia Price
SAH Chapter Liaison
Southeast Chapter Society of Architectural Historians

Jacqueline Spafford
SAHARA Co-Editor
University of California, Santa Barbara 

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2019