SAH Announces Awards for Architectural Excellence

The Society of Architectural Historians announces the launch of a new awards program, to be inaugurated at the SAH Awards Gala, November 10, 2012.
Oct 18, 2012 by User Not Found

SAH is an international organization dedicated to the study, interpretation, and conservation of architecture, landscapes, and urbanism for the benefit of all. SAH is headquartered in Chicago’s historic CharnleyPersky House, one of the few extant Louis Sullivan and Frank Lloyd Wright residences. The new SAH awards continue the mission of the organization and the house by honoring excellence in design related professions.

The awards are: 

  • The SAH Award for Excellence in Design, Planning and Sustainability, honoring Philip J. Enquist, of Skidmore, Owings, & Merrill LLP for scripting a Vision for the Great Lakes & St. Lawrence River Region, a master plan that addresses the phenomenal increase in human population, the impacts of urbanization, and the threats of climate change to the largest fresh water lake system in the world. The Charnley-Persky House served as the location for SOM’s Chicago Institute for Architecture & Urbanism, and SOM led a major restoration of the house in the late 1980s. It is in part thanks to SOM that the house is able to celebrate 120 years and is such a brilliant example of the unique history of Chicago’s Gold Coast.
  • The SAH Award for Excellence in Architectural Media, honoring Gwendolyn Wright and Geoffrey Baer. Gwendolyn Wright is a Professor of Architecture & Planning at Columbia University and host of the popular PBS “History Detectives” series. Geoffrey Baer is a producer and program host at PBS-affiliate WTTW in Chicago and currently is filming a nationally-syndicated program, “Ten Buildings that Changed America.” This award recognizes their pioneering work on educational television that brings architecture to millions of viewers every week. 
  • The SAH Award for Excellence in Architectural Conservation, honoring architect John Eifler, Principal, Eifler and Associates Architects for his continued restoration of the Charnley-Persky House and his work on greening historic structures.  
SAH Executive Director Pauline Saliga notes, “The SAH mission of making man-made structures and landscapes relevant to contemporary cultural life is increasingly important. Our inaugural SAH Awards for Excellence celebrate pivotal contributions to design made in the fields of architecture, media, urban planning, and preservation. We are delighted to honor these distinguished individuals for their innovative work in the fields of design and architectural history.”

Read more about the SAH Awards Gala / purchase tickets.
Load more comments
Thank you for the comment! Your comment must be approved first
New code
Comment by from