Society of Architectural Historians Announces 2022 Award Recipients

by SAH News | Apr 29, 2022

PITTSBURGH, April 29, 2022 — The Society of Architectural Historians is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 SAH Publication Awards and SAH Award for Film and Video. The awards recognize the most distinguished publications in architectural history, urban history, landscape history, preservation, and architectural exhibition catalogues; an outstanding JSAH article written by an emerging scholar; and the most distinguished work of film or video on the history of the built environment. The Society announced the winners last night at its 75th Annual International Conference in Pittsburgh.

The award winners are listed below. Award citations are available on the SAH website.

award-winning books


Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award

The Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award was established in 1949 to recognize annually the most distinguished work of scholarship in the history of architecture published by a North American scholar.

Ünver Rüstem
Ottoman Baroque: The Architectural Refashioning of Eighteenth-Century Istanbul
Princeton University Press, 2019

Honorable Mention
Aurelia Campbell
What the Emperor Built: Architecture and Empire in the Early Ming
University of Washington Press, 2020

Antoinette Forrester Downing Book Award

Named for Antoinette Forrester Downing, this award recognizes excellence in a published work devoted to historical topics in preservation and honors her scholarship and recognition of the value of local inventories and surveys.

No award given this year.

SAH Exhibition Catalogue Award

As architectural history exhibitions can address historical and critical questions in special ways, through the presentation of both documentation and artifacts to a diversified audience, so their catalogues have become distinctive vehicles for the expression of scholarship in architectural history. They remain as the substantial and enduring contribution after the life of the exhibition is spent. The SAH Exhibition Catalogue Award recognizes excellence in this form of scholarship and publication.

Cloé Pitiot and Nina Stritzler-Levine, Editors
Eileen Gray
Bard Graduate Center, 2020

Honorable Mention
Luca Guido, Stephanie Pilat, and Angela Person, Editors
Renegades: Bruce Goff and the American School of Architecture
University of Oklahoma Press, 2020

Spiro Kostof Book Award

This award was established in 1993 in recognition of Spiro Kostof's extraordinarily productive and inspiring career. In the spirit of Kostof's writings, the award recognizes interdisciplinary studies of urban history that make the greatest contribution to our understanding of the growth and development of cities.

Despina Stratigakos
Hitler's Northern Utopia: Building the New Order in Occupied Norway
Princeton University Press, 2020

Honorable Mention
Christina Schwenkel
Building Socialism: The Afterlife of East German Architecture in Urban Vietnam
Duke University Press, 2020

Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award

The Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award was established by the SAH Board in 2005 to recognize annually the most distinguished work of scholarship in the history of landscape architecture or garden design. Named for SAH past president and landscape historian Elisabeth MacDougall, the award honors the late historian's role in developing this field of study.

Sonja Dümpelmann
Seeing Trees: A History of Street Trees in New York City and Berlin
Yale University Press, 2019

Honorable Mention
Stephen H. Whiteman
Where Dragon Veins Meet: The Kangxi Emperor and His Estate at Rehe
University of Washington Press, 2020

Founders' JSAH Article Award

Established in 1970, the Founders’ Award recognizes an article published by an emerging scholar in the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians that exhibits excellence of scholarship and presentation.

Zachary Stewart
“One and Many: Parish Church Planning in Late Medieval England“
Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Vol. 79 No. 3, September 2020

SAH Award for Film and Video

The SAH Award for Film and Video recognizes the most distinguished work of film or video on the history of the built environment. The most important criterion is the work’s contribution to the understanding of the built environment, defined either as deepening that understanding or as bringing that understanding to new audiences.

Not Just Roads (2020)

Nitin Bathla and Klearjos Eduardo Papanicolaou


2:39:1, 70’, DCP, Color, India, Switzerland, Germany

Not Just Roads is a feature-length documentary film, which explores the recent history of planetary entanglements between the built environment, monetary speculation, and everyday life. It focuses on the sensorium of an urban expressway, the Dwarka Expressway located on the peripheries of Delhi. This expressway is being constructed as a part of the Indian government's Bharatmala (“Garland of Limitless Roads”) program, which aims to add a total of 65,400 kilometers of new highways to the existing network of highways in India, thus opening the Indian countryside to a massive urbanization geared towards speculative investments for the emerging Indian middle classes and global investors. Currently, these territories are inhabited by agricultural and working-class communities and nomadic herders and crisscrossed by native trails and vital ecological commons. The film captures the friction between the social and material lives of these competing life worlds, shifting between the sensorium of the world outside and inside of the gated utopias along the expressway. It journeys between working class neighborhoods undergoing demolition, construction landscapes, protests sites, and the persuasive pitches by the real estate salesmen attempting to sell dreamscapes.

Nominations for the 2023 award cycle will open in June.

Media Contact: Helena Dean,  

Download PDF

Founded in 1940, the Society of Architectural Historians is an international nonprofit membership organization that promotes the study, interpretation and conservation of architecture, design, landscapes and urbanism worldwide. SAH serves a network of local, national and international institutions and individuals who, by profession or interest, focus on the built environment and its role in shaping contemporary life. SAH promotes meaningful public engagement with the history of the built environment through advocacy efforts, print and online publications, and local, national and international programs.

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610