Society of Architectural Historians Announces 2024 Award Recipients

Apr 19, 2024 by SAH News

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M., April 19, 2024 - The Society of Architectural Historians is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2024 SAH Publication Awards and SAH Award for Film and Video. The awards recognize distinguished publications in architectural history, urban history, landscape history, preservation, and architectural exhibition catalogues; an outstanding JSAH article written by an emerging scholar; and the most distinguished work of film or video on the history of the built environment. The Society  announced the winners at its 77'h Annual International Conference in Albuquerque.

The award winners are listed below.

Alice Davis Hitchcock  Book Award

The Alice Davis Hitchcock Book Award was established in 1949 to recognize annually the most distinguished work of scholarship in the history of architecture published by a North American scholar.

Subhashini Kaligotla
Shiva's Waterfront Temples: Architects and Their Audiences in Medieval India
Yale University Press, 2022


Antoinette  Forrester Downing Book Award

Named for Antoinette Forrester Downing, this  award recognizes excellence in a published work devoted to historical topics in preservation and honors her scholarship and recognition of the value of local inventories and surveys.

No award given.


SAH Exhibition Catalogue Award

Architectural history exhibitions address historical and critical questions in special ways, through the presentation of both documentation and artifacts to a diversified audience. Exhibition catalogues have become distinctive vehicles for the expression of scholarship in architectural history. They remain as the substantial and enduring contribution after  the life of the exhibition is spent. The SAH Exhibition Catalogue Award recognizes excellence in this form of scholarship and publication.

Angelo Maggi, Foreword by Michelangelo Sabatino
G.E. Kidder Smith Builds: The Travel of Architectural Photography
ORO Editions, 2022

Honorable Mention:
Yuka Yokoyama and William Whitaker,Editors
Uncrating the Japanese House: Junz┼Ź Yoshimura, Antonin and Noemi Raymond, and George Nakashim
August Editions, 2022

Spiro Kostof Book Award

This award was established in 1993 in recognition of Spiro  Kostof's extraordinarily productive and inspiring career. In the spirit of Kostof's writings, the award recognizes interdisciplinary studies of urban history that make the greatest contribution to our understanding of the growth and development of cities.

Tara A. Dudley
Building Antebellum New Orleans: Free People of Color and  Their Influence
University of Texas  Press,2021


Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award

The Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Book Award was established in 2005 to recognize annually the most distinguished work  of scholarship in the history of landscape architecture or garden design. Named for SAH past president and landscape historian Elisabeth MacDougall, the award honors the late historian's role in developing this field of study.

Penny Sparke
Nature Inside: Plants and Flowers in the  Modern Interior
Yale University Press, 2020


Founders'  JSAH Article  Award

Established in 1970, the Founders' Award recognizes an article published by an emerging scholar in the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians (JSAH) that exhibits excellence of scholarship and presentation.

E. Sasu Kwame Sewordor
"The  Urban Culture of the 'Model' Christian Settlement at Abokobi, Ghana,1854-1929"
Journal of the  Society of Architectural Historians, Vol. 81 No.2,June 2022

SAH Award for Film and Video

The SAH Award for Film and Video  recognizes the most  distinguished work of film or video on the history of the built environment. The most important criterion for award recognition is the work's contribution to t understanding of the built environment, defined either  as deepening that understanding or as bringing t understanding to new audiences.

Barry Farm: Community, Land, and Justice in Washington, D.C.
Year Completed: 2023
Sabiyha Prince and Samuel George, Directors
DC Legacy  Project  and Bertelsmann Foundation, Producers

Honorable Mention:
Tropic Fever
Year Completed: 2022

Robin  Hartanto Honggare, Mahardika Yudha, Perdana  Roswaldy, Directors

Nominations for the 2025 award cycle will open in June.

About the  Society of Architectural Historians
Founded in 1940, the Society of Architectural Historians is an international nonprofit membership organizations that promotes the study, interpretation and conservation of architecture, design, landscapes and urbanism worldwide. SAH serves a network of local, national and international institutions and individuals who, by vocation or avocation, focus on the built  environment and its role in shaping contemporary life. SAH promotes meaningful public engagement with the history of the built environment through advocacy efforts, print and online publications, and local, national and international programs. Learn more at

Media Contact:
High-resolution images available upon  request.