SAH News

Society of Architectural Historians Announces 2016 SAH Fellows

by SAH News | Feb 17, 2016
Download PDF of Press Release

The Society of Architectural Historians will induct Barry Bergdoll, Diane Favro, Richard Longstreth and Therese O’Malley as SAH Fellows at its 2016 Annual International Conference in Pasadena. Fellows of the Society of Architectural Historians are those individuals who have distinguished themselves by a lifetime of significant contributions to the field of architectural history, which may include scholarship, service to SAH or stewardship of the built environment. The 2016 SAH Fellows, all past presidents of the Society, will be honored at an awards ceremony on April 7. Visit for more information.

 Bergdoll-Barry Barry Bergdoll is the Meyer Schapiro Professor of Modern Architectural History at Columbia University, where he has been on the faculty since 1985. He is also curator in the Department of Architecture and Design at the Museum of Modern Art, where from 2007 to 2013 he served as The Philip Johnson Chief Curator of Architecture and Design. At MoMA he organized, curated and consulted on several major exhibitions of 19th and 20th-century architecture, as well as numerous presentations of selections from MoMA's permanent collections of architecture and design, which were substantially expanded under his tenure. The author and  editor of numerous books, Bergdoll received SAH’s Philip Johnson Exhibition Catalogue Award for the following publications: Henri Labrouste: Structure Brought to Light, with Corinne Bélier and Marc Le Coeur (MoMA, Cité de l’architecture et du patrimoine, Bibliothèque nationale de France, 2013), Home Delivery: Fabricating the Modern Dwelling (MoMA, 2008) andMies in Berlin (MoMA, Harry N. Abrams, 2001). A Life member of SAH, Bergdoll served as president of the Society of Architectural Historians from 2006 to 2008.

 Favro-Diane Diane Favro is professor of architecture and urban design, and associate dean of academic affairs at the UCLA School of the Arts and Architecture. Her research explores the urbanism of ancient Rome, archaeological historiography, women in architecture, and digital applications of 3D modeling in the humanities. Favro’s publications include Streets: Critical Perspectives on Public Space (co-editor, UC Press, 1994), The Urban Image of Augustan Rome (Cambridge University Press, 1996), Paradigm and Progeny (co-editor, JRA Supplement 2015) and several large digital research projects. Among other honors she was Resident at the American Academy in Rome in 2014. Founding director of the UCLA Experiential Technologies Center, Favro was an early adopter of 3D real-time digital modeling for historical research, with substantive grants for such pioneering, award-winning projects as the Digital Roman Forum and Digital Karnak. Favro was president of the Society of Architectural Historians from 2002 to 2004.

 Longstreth-Richard Richard Longstreth is professor of American studies and director of the Graduate Program in Historic Preservation at The George Washington University. He has written extensively on the history of 19th and 20th-century architecture in the U.S. In recent years, his research has focused on retail development in major metropolitan areas, relating economic, design, urbanistic and cultural factors that have fundamentally reshaped the American landscape since 1920. His City Center to Regional Mall and The Drive-In, the Supermarket, and the Transformation of Commercial Space in Los Angeles 1914–1941 won four national awards in the fields of architectural history, urban history and historic preservation. Longstreth has been involved in the preservation field at all levels and is currently writing a book on the preservation of mid-twentieth-century architecture and landscapes. A Life member of SAH, Longstreth served as president of the Society of Architectural Historians from 1998 to 2000 and in 2015 he received the Society’s Award for Architectural Excellence in Architectural Scholarship and Preservation Advocacy.

 O'Malley-Therese Therese O’Malley is associate dean at the Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts at the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C. Her scholarship concerns the history of landscape architecture and garden design, primarily in the 18th and 19th centuries, with a focus on the transatlantic exchange of plants, ideas and people. Her recent publications include Modernism and Landscape Architecture, 1890–1940, co-edited with Joachim Wolschke Buhlmann (National Gallery of Art, 2015), Keywords in American Landscape Design (Yale University Press, 2010), The Art of Natural History, co-edited with Amy W. Meyers (National Gallery of Art, 2008) and many articles on aspects of the early profession of landscape design, American gardens and the history of botanic gardens. A Life member of SAH, O’Malley  was president of the Society of Architectural Historians from 2004 to 2006. O’Malley is a director of the Foundation for Landscape Studies, a founding member of the SAH Landscape Chapter and a board member of the Mount Vernon Place Conservancy in Baltimore. She serves on The New York Botanical Garden’s Library Visiting Committee and Advisory Board for the Mellon Humanities Institute, as well as an advisor to the United States Ambassadors Fund for the State Department. She is currently engaged in creating a digital archive based on her book, Keywords in American Landscape Design, which will reside on the National Gallery website.

About the Society of Architectural Historians

Founded in 1940, the Society of Architectural Historians is a nonprofit membership organization that promotes the study, interpretation and conservation of architecture, design, landscapes and urbanism worldwide. SAH serves a network of local, national and international institutions and individuals who, by vocation or avocation, focus on the built environment and its role in shaping contemporary life. SAH promotes meaningful public engagement with the history of the built environment through advocacy efforts, print and online publications, and local, national and international programs.

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610