Society of Architectural Historians' 79th Anniversary Open House

by SAH | May 31, 2019
CPHfirstfloorIn celebration of the 79th anniversary of its founding at Harvard, the Society of Architectural Historians will host an open house on Saturday, July 27, from 10:00 am to 2:00 pm at its National Historic Landmark headquarters, the Charnley-Persky House at 1365 N. Astor Street (Astor and Schiller) in Chicago.

Guests will be able to walk through the house and experience the ornate oak carvings and dramatic second-floor staircase designed in 1891­–92 by the stellar Chicago architecture firm of Adler and Sullivan with their young draftsman, Frank Lloyd Wright. The house, built for James and Helen Charnley as they relocated to the expanding Gold Coast neighborhood, is recognized as a pivotal example of modern residential design.

The Open House also includes a book sale featuring architectural and landscape design titles and a yard sale of vintage items, complete with lemonade and cookies. Guests are welcome to stop by to learn more about SAH and enjoy a self-guided tour of the iconic Charnley-Persky House.

Free and open to the public. Proceeds from the yard sale benefit SAH educational programs and the ongoing restoration of the Charnley-Persky House.

Founded in 1940, the Society of Architectural Historians is an international nonprofit membership organization that promotes the study, interpretation and conservation of architecture, design, landscapes and urbanism worldwide. SAH serves a network of local, national and international institutions and individuals who, by profession or interest, focus on the built environment and its role in shaping contemporary life. SAH promotes meaningful public engagement with the history of the built environment through advocacy efforts, print and online publications, and local, national and international programs.

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Copyright - (c) 2019