Bruno Zevi Prize 2022

With a view to developing and disseminating the teachings of Bruno Zevi and his method of critical and historical inquiry, The Bruno Zevi Foundation annually holds an international competition to award a prize for a historical-critical essay offering an original analysis of an architectural work, theme or architect of the past or present.The competition is divided into five sections corresponding with the following themes:–­  the key role of space in architecture;–­  the ancient sources of the modern language;–­  history as a methodology of architectural practice;–­  the modern language of architecture;–­  landscape and the zero-degree language of architecture.The competition is open to PhD researchers who have obtained the title between 2012 and 2022.Essays published previously are not eligible. The prize consists of the essay’s publication, the winner will be invited to give a lecture at a conference in Rome at an award ceremony.In this edition the members of the jury are: Antonello Alici, Marco Cadinu, Maristella Casciato, Elena Svalduz, Claudio Zambianchi.Those wishing to enter the competition are required to provide the Bruno Zevi Foundation with all the documents required by no later than September 30, 2022 (as proved by a postage stamp on the envelope). Essays must also be submitted by email.

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610