Past Recipients

Antoinette Forrester Downing Book Award Recipients

2022  No award given this year 
2021  Diana S. Waite, Photographs by Gary David Gold, The Architecture of Downtown Troy: An Illustrated History (SUNY Press, 2019)
2021  Jeff Cody and Francesco Siravo, Historic Cities: Issues in Urban Conservation (Getty Conservation Institute, 2019)
2020 Sally McMurry, Pennsylvania Farming: A History in Landscapes (University of Pittsburgh Press, 2017)
2019  Cameron Logan, Historic Capital: Preservation, Race, and Real Estate in Washington, D.C. (University of Minnesota Press, 2017)
2019  Daniela Sandler, Counterpreservation: Architectural Decay in Berlin since 1989 (Cornell University Press, 2016) 
2018 No award given this year. 
2017  Richard Longstreth, Looking beyond the Icons: Midcentury Architecture, Landscape, and Urbanism (University of Virginia Press, 2015)
2016  Miles Glendinning, The Conservation Movement: A History of Architectural Preservation (London: Routledge, 2013)
2015 Ari Kelman, A Misplaced Massacre: Struggling over the Memory of Sand Creek (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2013)
2014 Jeffrey M. Chusid, Saving Wright: The Freeman House and the Preservation of Meaning, Materials, and Modernity (W. W. Norton & Company, 2011)
2013 Daniel Bluestone, Buildings, Landscapes, and Memory: Case Studies in Historic Preservation (W. W. Norton & Company, 2011)
2012 Andrew Scott Dolkart, The Row House Reborn: Architecture and Neighborhoods in New York City, 1908-1929 The Johns Hopkins University Press, 2009)
2011 Randall Mason, The Once and Future New York: Historic Preservation and the Modern City University of Minnesota Press, 2009)
2010 Paul Baker Touart, At the Crossroads: The Architectural History of Wicomico County, Maryland (Maryland Historical Trust Press/Preservation Trust of Wicomico, 2008)
2009 David Welling, Cinema Houston: From Nickelodeon to Megaplex (Austin: University of Texas Press, 2007)
2008 Catherine W. Bishir, Southern Built: American Architecture, Regional Practice (University of Virginia Press, 2006)
2007 Marcus Hall, Earth Repair: A Transatlantic History of Environmental Restoration (University of Virginia Press, 2005)
2006 No award given this year.
2005 Robert E. Stipe, A Richer Heritage: Historic Preservation in the Twenty-First Century (North Carolina University Press, 2003)
2004 Gail Lee Dubrow and Jennifer B. Goodman, eds. with the New Hampshire Preservation Alliance. Restoring Women's History through Historic Preservation (Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2002)
2003 No award given this year.
2002 James Garvin, A Building History of Northern New England (University Press of New England, 2001)
2001 Arnold R. Alanen and Robert Z. Melnick, eds., Preserving Cultural Landscapes in America (Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2000)
2000 Michael Holleran, Boston's Changeful Times (Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1998)
1999 No award given this year.
1998 Catherine W. Bishir and Michael T. Southern, A Guide to the Historic Architecture of Eastern North Carolina (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1996)
1997 Karl B. Raitz, A Guide to the National Road and The National Road (Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1996)
1996 Kelly A. Lally, The Historic Architecture of Wake County, North Carolina (Wake County Government, 1994)
1995 Paul Baker Touart, Along the Seaboard Side: The Architectural History of Worcester County, Maryland (Snow Hill, MD: Worcester County, 1994)
1994 John L. Cotter, Daniel G. Roberts, and Michael Parrington, The Buried Past: An Archaeological History of Phildelphia (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1992)
1993 Scott Power, ed., The Historic Architecture of Pitt County, North Carolina (Pitt County Historical Society, 1991)
1993 Chris Wilson and David Kammer, La Tierra Amaralla: Its History, Architecture and Cultural Landscape (Museum of New Mexico Press, 1992)
1992 No award given this year.
1991 Paul Baker Touart, Somerset: An Architectural History (Annapolis: Maryland Historical Trust, 1990)
1990 Susan E. Maycock, East Cambridge: A Survey of Architectural History in Cambridge (Cambridge: MIT Press, 1988)
1989 Elizabeth A. T. Smith and the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, Blueprints for Modern Living: History and Legacy of the Case Study Houses (Cambridge: MIT Press, 1989)
1988 Robert Gamble and HABS, The Alabama Catalog HABS: A Guide to the Early Architecture of the State (University of Alabama Press, 1987)
1987 William McKenzie Woodward and Edward F. Sanderson, Providence, A Citywide Survey of Resources (Providence: Rhode Island Historical Preservation Commission, 1986)

SAH thanks The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
for its operating support.
Society of Architectural Historians
1365 N. Astor Street
Chicago, Illinois 60610